Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-11-15, 12:47 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,791
Phanteks Announces Power Splitter with Patented Isolated Dual System Technology

Phanteks Announces Power Splitter with Patented Isolated Dual System Technology, how about two systems on a single Power supply!



Read more on Phanteks' Dual system power splitter.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-11-15, 07:43 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,640
I bet Kaap will buy 4 of these.. lol
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-11-15, 08:34 PM
Kilbane's Avatar
Kilbane Kilbane is offline
Hagrid Look-A-Like
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Abergavenny, S.Wales
Posts: 1,254
One word .... WHY?
__________________
I'm not a Geek! ..... I'm an intellectual BADASS!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-11-15, 08:36 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 8,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilbane View Post
One word .... WHY?
Presumably to do with their Mini XL case that can fit two systems.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-11-15, 08:40 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,310
I quite like that idea.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-11-15, 11:14 PM
CreatiXx's Avatar
CreatiXx CreatiXx is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Belgium/Borsbeek
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilbane View Post
One word .... WHY?
more like why not?

in theory a 1000w PSU can power 2 systems but they never made it possible. It decreases your costs when wanting to build 2 low wattage builds. it creates some possibilities
__________________
i7 6700k | MSI Z170 Titanium GAMING edition | 2x MSI 390's | Corsair 120GB SSD | WD Green 3 TB HDD | TT Core x9 (yeaah iknow) | CM 1000W Silent M
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-11-15, 11:51 PM
jimma47's Avatar
jimma47 jimma47 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hobart, Australia
Posts: 1,744
If you have a giant case with two systems in it then yeah can save you the hassle of duplication and/or extra power use. I've seen systems where there's an overkill build in the main section and a secondary low power system for web browsing or media server. Saves you firing up the whole rig if you're just streaming music or a movie.
__________________
Rig Gallery - Krusty III

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-11-15, 12:11 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,640
Well even if it's not for everyone it still has a use and it's a great use at that. You could basically have 2 systems in one which saves space and costs do to needing only one PSU and one case. I think that's excellent and if more cases were able to handle 2 systems in a reasonable form factor, I know i'd be interested in that. I'd love to build a living room PC and it also functioning as a home server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.