Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-10-15, 10:31 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,346
Nvidia to Phase out 2GB GTX 960 GPUs

With VRAM requirements getting ever higher it looks like Nvidia may be planning on phasing out the 2GB version of their GTX 960 GPU.



Read more on Nvidia's plans to phase out the 2GB version of the GTX 960.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-15, 10:49 AM
cooperman's Avatar
cooperman cooperman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK/west-mids
Posts: 769
I think it was a stupid card in the first place adding 4gb to it dosent make it any more attractive on a card that cant use 4gbs of vram thay need to stop mucking about and make a 960ti
__________________
i5 4690-Gigabyte Z97P-D3-16Gbs 1866Mhz Kinston HyperX Fury Black-Asus GTX 980 Corsair h80i-sandisk 256gb ultra plus-250gb Intel SSD-WD Blue 500gb-Seasonic M12-620w-Cooler master haf xb.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-15, 12:37 PM
W1tness's Avatar
W1tness W1tness is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 57
The 960 can use the 4gb of VRAM(check out Paul's Hardware's GTA V VRAM usage video) Just because the card isn't up to spec for some doesn't men that it's completely gimped. There's no way of denying that it is the perfect card for 1080p high/ultra and 1440p high settings. Also, a 960ti would completely cannibalize the gtx 970 sales. There wouldn't be a point in buying either the 960 and 970 because there's something in between. Plus, 2gb at 1080p is still perfect unless you're some kind of masochist.
__________________
Yes, I read this forum too...

i5 6600k 4.4Ghz|RX 480 8gb Nitro + OC|MSI Z170M Mortar|Cryorig H5 Ultimate|Fractal Design Node 804|Corsair RM650|Crucial Ballistix Sport 16gb DDR4 2400|2xOCZ Trion 150 480GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-15, 01:09 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
While this is clearly just stupid, it's going to make it incredibly hard for anyone to sell 2GB cards, because nVidia.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-15, 01:18 PM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
While this is clearly just stupid, it's going to make it incredibly hard for anyone to sell 2GB cards, because nVidia.

JR
I agree
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-15, 02:12 PM
Squaldo's Avatar
Squaldo Squaldo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 133
Well..why not?
960 with 4 gigs can play most games on 1080p so.
Just like the other guy said.."because Nvidia"
__________________
[Insert Signature Here]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-15, 08:28 AM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 938
Does kind of make sense i mean look at Fallouts minimum specs it needs a 2gig card. won't be long before this is the norm and no one is going to want to spend near £200 on a card that is only meeting minimum specs.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-15, 09:54 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
While this is clearly just stupid, it's going to make it incredibly hard for anyone to sell 2GB cards, because nVidia.

JR
First thing I thought of too. Poor guys:/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-15, 04:36 PM
The_Mard's Avatar
The_Mard The_Mard is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada eh?
Posts: 74


I agree with NVIDIA on this one. Cut their losses on the 2GB GTX 960. The AMD R9 380 is unanimously a better card for the same price and NVIDIA has the GTX 950 to dominate that price bracket that is barely slower than a GTX 960 anyways.

Still selling the 4GB GTX 960 for now is an ok move though as people who already own the card still have the chance to buy a second GPU to SLI those and get good performance gains instead of having to try and sell their card used and upgrade from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by W1tness View Post
The 960 can use the 4gb of VRAM(check out Paul's Hardware's GTA V VRAM usage video) Just because the card isn't up to spec for some doesn't men that it's completely gimped. There's no way of denying that it is the perfect card for 1080p high/ultra and 1440p high settings. Also, a 960ti would completely cannibalize the gtx 970 sales. There wouldn't be a point in buying either the 960 and 970 because there's something in between. Plus, 2gb at 1080p is still perfect unless you're some kind of masochist.
Agreed. Besides, if someone wanted to SLI 2GB GTX 960? They'd run into VRAM walls like I do with my 2GB GTX 680 Two-Way SLI setup where lots of newer games I'm VRAM limited and not graphical processor limited. I could crank my graphics more in GTA V if I had more VRAM per card... If I crank my settings up too much? I get random drops to 10FPS if my VRAM usage gets out of hand...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
While this is clearly just stupid, it's going to make it incredibly hard for anyone to sell 2GB cards, because nVidia.

JR
Why? Because GTX 680's also have 2GB VRAM models too? :P
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...x+680&_sacat=0

Most are around the $200 to $250 USD mark... so the same price as a GTX 960 2GB... maybe a little more expensive but it's also slightly faster.

Such is the way of technology anyways... what was super fast before is only mid-range today and will be low-end next year. Will HBM2 accelerate GPU aging on GDDR5 cards? Maybe... maybe not. Time will tell with Dx12 / Vulkan too how well our cards will perform in those titles. So far from my tests? My GTX 680 performs slightly better in places, but slightly worse in others. Maybe it's due to how good NVIDIA drivers were in Dx11 or maybe it's due to async-compute not functioning correctly on my older card? Who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-15, 06:22 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,425
Can't compare a 680 to a 960 vram. 680 didn't play modern games that suck up vram whereas the 960 is surrounded by games that do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.