Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-08-14, 03:02 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
All AMD GCN GPUs support DX12

At the company's 30 Years of Graphics event, AMD disclosed that all AMD GPUs based on the GCN architecture will support DirectX 12, Microsoft's next generation multimedia API.



Read more on AMD's compatibility with DirectX 12 here

__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-08-14, 03:07 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,282
Is mantle going to die now? Why would developers develop for mantle if they can just do DX12 and hit two birds with one stone?
__________________
|i5 4460|8GB RAM|R9 380 4GB|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-08-14, 03:10 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
Is mantle going to die now? Why would developers develop for mantle if they can just do DX12 and hit two birds with one stone?
Mantle has a lead on DX 12, we won't see DX 12 games until the end of next year.

And there is a good likelihood that a Mantle will come to Linux, which direct X will not.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-08-14, 03:14 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
Mantle has a lead on DX 12, we won't see DX 12 games until the end of next year.

And there is a good likelihood that a Mantle will come to Linux, which direct X will not.
That's a good point, but when/if the day comes that DX12/13 offers benefits like mantle and works with all platforms, it wont be a great situation for mantle. Its cool that AMD support both mantle and DX12, but I don't really see it as the best business move ever.
__________________
|i5 4460|8GB RAM|R9 380 4GB|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-08-14, 03:18 PM
Luke0222 Luke0222 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
So i am new to PC building and i a decent budget and i was thinking of getting corsair 300r with some LED lights and and z97 asus maximus 7 hero with a 4790k and corsair power supply with a samsung ssd and barracuda 1tb hardrive with 8 gb of hyper x ram and for the graphics card i was thinking saphire r9 290, one for now and curretn games and then i could pick up another one later on for crossfire when more demanding games come out in the future like star citizen. What do you guys think or suggest?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-08-14, 03:18 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
Its cool that AMD support both mantle and DX12, but I don't really see it as the best business move ever.
AMD NEED to support DirectX 12, they would simply lose the ability to play too many games if they didn't.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-08-14, 03:20 PM
MadShadow MadShadow is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: St Andrews, Scotland
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke0222 View Post
So i am new to PC building and i a decent budget and i was thinking of getting corsair 300r with some LED lights and and z97 asus maximus 7 hero with a 4790k and corsair power supply with a samsung ssd and barracuda 1tb hardrive with 8 gb of hyper x ram and for the graphics card i was thinking saphire r9 290, one for now and curretn games and then i could pick up another one later on for crossfire when more demanding games come out in the future like star citizen. What do you guys think or suggest?
I suggest you make a thread in the build advise sub-forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
AMD NEED to support DirectX 12, they would simply lose the ability to play too many games if they didn't.
I didn't think about that. I guess you are right.

Okay so once DX12 is out and it provides benefits like mantle, the only reason to develop for mantle would be for support for platforms like Linux with an AMD GPU. That's a pretty small market as far as I'm aware. I wonder if developers would develop for mantle or just take the easy way out and go for OpenGL which has support from AMD and Nvidia and supports Linux, right?
__________________
|i5 4460|8GB RAM|R9 380 4GB|ASUS Z97-I Plus|WD Blue 1TB|Corsair RM650|Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ITX|


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-08-14, 03:42 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
That's a good point, but when/if the day comes that DX12/13 offers benefits like mantle and works with all platforms, it wont be a great situation for mantle. Its cool that AMD support both mantle and DX12, but I don't really see it as the best business move ever.

directx will never be available to anything other than MS os's. its Microsoft's only real leverage to make you buy the OS.
If it wasnt for direct x being MS only Most people here would probably be running linux and im sure they would have made distros that even a newbie could use if such an exodus of MS users ever wanted to use linux, because it became a viable gaming platform (look at steam os for instance)
MS would be in a really bad position if that happened..
they don't have enough market share any where else "IMO" to be able to wave good bye to their bread and butter.

mantel or an improved open gl is our best bet for a more level playing field when it comes to OS choices.
open Gl is just a mess though. developers do not want to program for open gl any more due to all the years of added code and stupid programing rules, open gl would need a complete over haul and clean up for it to be viable.. which is a shame because really it has always had low level hardware access which is what mantle and dx12 are claiming is so great about their new api's..
having said that dx 12 will also come with more work. previous direct x api's would do a lot of work for you releasing resources and so on automatically. this however slowed it down a bit and made it a bit less efficient.. with direct x 12 they stripped all that out so programers will have to make sure that they have it using and releasing things as and when needed which will be extra work. and possibly make it more like open gl. I dont know much about mantels usage of resources though or how you would go about allocating them or if it releases them its self /you have to code it specifically to release them..

The main problem with mantel IMO is amd wouldn't let any one have a look at it when they asked for access to it to start it. even though they claimed it was open source. nvidia and intel asked and were denied. Which is not a great move.. i have a feeling if amd had just let them have a look at it when they asked then it would have had more support, but i guess "and i don't know" that amd wanted to do more work on it so it worked better when they let them look at it "or even make sure it worked the best it could with their own hardware". but if they had shared it when asked then every one could have had a look at it and made it work better for everything.

mantel could well end up a bit like 3dnow and end up being amd specific but cross platform. this could at least let Some games work on linux/macs and so on. but then it would be a small selection. i dont see game devs coding for 2 or more api's as a default. the only way it would have a chance is if the xbox and play station used mantel as its api. but we already know the xbox will be dx 12. which just further limits mantels scope.
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-08-14, 05:32 PM
Innocent159's Avatar
Innocent159 Innocent159 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,147
How do I get dx12 to work on my R9 270x or is it just a software update?
__________________
I don't want a sig anymore
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-08-14, 05:36 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innocent159 View Post
How do I get dx12 to work on my R9 270x or is it just a software update?
It will be a driver update whenever DX12 is released.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.