Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-11-13, 11:40 AM
beaurelic beaurelic is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 37
AMD fx-4350 low temps

hello

i just finished building my new pc and i might have a OP cpu cooler (scythe mugen 3)
and i get these realy low temps is this even healthy?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-11-13, 11:42 AM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
No, in fact it's not even possible. For idle temps it's probably better to check your bios.

Idle temps mean nothing in the end, try to run some stress tests and check again.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-11-13, 11:47 AM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
for proper temp readings (as most temperature programs read the wrong sensor for AMD) download AMD Overdrive.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-11-13, 11:48 AM
beaurelic beaurelic is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 37
i just checked the bios its 12c and how should i do the stress tests im new to this
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-11-13, 12:06 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaurelic View Post
i just checked the bios its 12c and how should i do the stress tests im new to this
Erhm, just wondering but what's the temp like in your house? Cause CPU temps can't go below ambient with air- or watercooling.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-11-13, 03:57 PM
beaurelic beaurelic is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 37
at that time it was around 12c but its now around 25 and the cpu is 20c
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-11-13, 04:08 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 15,980
Download amd overdrive as said above.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-11-13, 04:10 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaurelic View Post
at that time it was around 12c but its now around 25 and the cpu is 20c
That's impossible. I've heard this is apparently a problem on the AMD platform (I don't personally own an AMD pc). Have you tried what barnsley suggested? He has an AMD CPU so I'm assuming he knows what he's doing better than I am

We had a thread on this not tooo long ago, might be worth to read through that (don't post though):
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55707
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-11-13, 04:15 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
This is what you need:
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa.../overview.aspx

Its as accurate as you can get for AMD cpus.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-11-13, 04:38 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
This is what you need:
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa.../overview.aspx

Its as accurate as you can get for AMD cpus.

+This AMD stuff hardly ever reads right, I always used to think of things like HWmonitor as a reference tool rather than accurate temps!
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.