Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-06-06, 07:38 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
AMD product line re-shuffle

AMD will be pulling several of their CPU chips off the shelves in the coming months in an effort to cut down on confusion within product lines (such as the differences in Cache in the X2 line).

Read the OC3D news Here

__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-06-06, 07:39 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Meh not impressed with this. I perfer the extra L2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-06-06, 03:10 PM
|3ourne |3ourne is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 581
Kemp , the extra L2 really doesnt make that much of a difference in real world performance. And what more , less L2 = higher overclocking. Amd is really efficient in terms of Cache and thus they do not have to make 4mb L2 cache beasts like intel has to. Yea you will lose a little time in Super pi but in real world benchies like games , you wont notice a difference. I am definitely picking up a 3800+ when they lower AM2 prices to tide me over till rev. G gets introduced.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.6 ghz { 1.375 V }

MSI P35 Platinum { Hate it }

Crucial Ballistix Tracers @ 1100 mhz 5-5-5-15

Powercolor HD3870 + Thermalright Cooler { Hate it }

Razer Barracuda AC1

Ocz Powerstream 520 Watts { I cannot believe its still alive }

Thermalright Ultima 90 { Lapped }

LOTS OF FANS !!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-06-06, 04:38 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by |3ourne
Kemp , the extra L2 really doesnt make that much of a difference in real world performance.

Yea you will lose a little time in Super pi
well a bigger l2 cache also slows down even at the same clock and 1mb cache gives worse score in superpi than 512kb cache does.

did some research on the subject som time ago and found this.

Quote:
venice 512kb cache ran superpi 32m 34seconds FASTER than a sandiego with 1mb cache.

everything was the same with both cpu's.

graphics memory timings fsb multiplier everything.

that means 1mb cache either slow things down or the san diego chip tested is faulty but still it ran all benchmarks without problem.

pcmark04 differed less than 15 points between the cpu's

venice beat the SD with 500points in 3dmark01

memory bandwidth, cpu arithmetic and cpu multimedia benchmark scored basicly the same on both cpu's.

program used was sandra.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.