Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-07-09, 09:29 PM
w3bbo w3bbo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: High Peak
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to w3bbo
OC3D Review: Asus ROG OC Station

Overclocking on the fly, no need for reboots, stylish dual bay design. Meet the Asus OC station. The ultimate in overclocking devices?



Read on to find out...

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-07-09, 09:36 PM
BloomerzUK BloomerzUK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via MSN to BloomerzUK
Nice review.. dunno if you spotted it or not, but on the 3rd page, 2nd last image.. they've spelled 'launch' wrong .
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-07-09, 09:42 PM
w3bbo w3bbo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: High Peak
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to w3bbo
Yeah, some mistakes they and other mfr's make in the BIOS on mobo's are laughable too. Luckily the firmware can be updated so errors like this can be corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-07-09, 09:42 PM
PeterStoba PeterStoba is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Nice review.. dunno if you spotted it or not, but on the 3rd page, 2nd last image.. they've spelled 'launch' wrong .


OMG ERROR!

Nice review as usual though Rich, it is a bit pricey though, £105 for something that can be done for free?
__________________
Silverstone SG05B | i3 530 | Scythe Shuriken | DFI LanParty MI P55-T36 | 4GB Kingston HyperX 1333Mhz | XFX 5450 512MB | Samsung SN-T083C | Intel X25-V 40GB | Samsung F1 1TB

LGW2452TX-PF | Logitech G9 | Logitech G15 | Logitech Z5500

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-07-09, 09:53 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
More rather £105 for convenience.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-07-09, 09:56 PM
w3bbo w3bbo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: High Peak
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to w3bbo
You've hit the nail on the head there. It's a time saving device(no reboots), something that someone not confident in overclocking can use while following a guide maybe? Worth it to some I guess but the price needs looking at for it to be very popular.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-07-09, 10:00 PM
VonBlade's Avatar
VonBlade VonBlade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Behind a keyboard
Posts: 1,179
I thought that the ROG stuff came with desktop OC software anyway? Or at minimum the OC Palm is hardly expensive at all and does the same thing.

So do I get a P6 OC Palm for 250, or a Rampage II + OC Station for 360??
__________________
All spit, no polish.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-07-09, 10:52 PM
w3bbo w3bbo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: High Peak
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to w3bbo
If you deffo want an Asus board then go for the P6T imo. Only go for the deluxe if you want to make use of SAS. No need for the palm if you know what you're doing, nice gadget that it is.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-07-09, 10:59 AM
mayhem's Avatar
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,355
I wonder if they haven't inc the Memory over clocking as there is so many different types of memory they don't what you blowing it and then blaming them.

Its interesting to see this but if you are relay inept user would you buy this. It more of a bling thing like you say but realy most add on ocing apps are as the ground base bios over clocking really is the only option.

This what i more surprised at i have found with memory over clocking windows 7 is much less likely to die on boot than windows xp if its set up correctly. So 1 question is does this peace of equipment work with windows 7 and does it work well.

other wise nice looking and i personally don't think the price is that high considering what it looks like and its really not that bad looking.
__________________
All support is now handled direct at http://support.mayhems.net/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-07-09, 11:35 AM
VonBlade's Avatar
VonBlade VonBlade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Behind a keyboard
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
So 1 question is does this peace of equipment work with windows 7 and does it work well.
Quote:
You can also set the OC station to display your system configuration and as you can see below, the OC station is compatible with Windows 7 64bit using the provided driver.


So I'd take that as a yes

VB
__________________
All spit, no polish.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.