Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-10-08, 06:48 PM
TopSecret TopSecret is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 876
Intel to ask AMD some serious questions

Intel have some questions to ask AMD regarding their fabrication split.

Read the full article here.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-08, 06:58 PM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,528
My understanding was that AMD were supposed to hold on to at least 50% of their fabs due to the whole x86 saga?

Hard to know for sure what'll happen now, just have to wait and see...

On the subject of AMD going fabless...

This was IMO a natural progression for them. The cost of running and maintaining a fab today is astronomical. For this reason IC fabrication has really become a closed market. It's only a company with extremely deep pockets that are entrenched into the business like Intel that can afford to run their own fabs in todays world.

I'm glad to see they didn't go under TSMC, too many companies are under them as is.

Anyway, fabless semiconductor companies are quite common these days. For example Xilinx, Nvidia, Via, Mediatek to name a few.
__________________
Main: Intel i7-6700k | MSi Z170i Gaming Pro AC | 16GB Crucial BallistiX DDR4-2400 | Nvidia GTX 1070 | Fractal Define Nano S
Secondary: AMD Phenom II X4 955 | Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P | 8GB Corsair DDR3-1333MHz | Nvidia GTX 750Ti
Server: AMD Athlon 5350 | ASRock AM1H-ITX | 4GB Corsair ValueSelect DDR3-1333MHz | MiniBox M350
HTPC: AMD A6-6400k | Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI | 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600MHz | Silverstone ML03

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-08, 07:57 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
but isnt intel paying amd royalties for x86-64? or did i not hear that?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-08, 08:20 PM
Jesse-PXP Jesse-PXP is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
I wonder how this is going to play out....pretty interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-08, 10:52 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Intel is stupid tbh. They are going to get their hand slapped fro trying to put it in AMDs pocket with this stupid shiz. They will go after AMD for the X86 but AMD will bite right back with X86-X64.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-08, 07:36 AM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Intel is stupid tbh. They are going to get their hand slapped fro trying to put it in AMDs pocket with this stupid shiz. They will go after AMD for the X86 but AMD will bite right back with X86-X64.
why are they stupid for protecting their patent?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-08, 12:56 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Because AMD will protect theirs right back and use it against Intel.

I apologize to all for being so snippy.

Misses + baby + ****ty job + new puppy = PP Mguire pull hair out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-08, 06:58 AM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,528
Wasn't it Intel who licensed their architecture to AMD, not the other way around?
__________________
Main: Intel i7-6700k | MSi Z170i Gaming Pro AC | 16GB Crucial BallistiX DDR4-2400 | Nvidia GTX 1070 | Fractal Define Nano S
Secondary: AMD Phenom II X4 955 | Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P | 8GB Corsair DDR3-1333MHz | Nvidia GTX 750Ti
Server: AMD Athlon 5350 | ASRock AM1H-ITX | 4GB Corsair ValueSelect DDR3-1333MHz | MiniBox M350
HTPC: AMD A6-6400k | Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI | 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600MHz | Silverstone ML03

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-08, 10:39 AM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
intel alowed AMD to use x86

but then amd developed X86-64

which intel then lisenced off them, and renamed EMT64 or somthing like that

so the only reaosn we have 64 bit intels now is because of amd
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-08, 12:10 PM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,528
Ah ha...

Now, That I didn't know..

What were the conditions for that agreement with X86-64?
__________________
Main: Intel i7-6700k | MSi Z170i Gaming Pro AC | 16GB Crucial BallistiX DDR4-2400 | Nvidia GTX 1070 | Fractal Define Nano S
Secondary: AMD Phenom II X4 955 | Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P | 8GB Corsair DDR3-1333MHz | Nvidia GTX 750Ti
Server: AMD Athlon 5350 | ASRock AM1H-ITX | 4GB Corsair ValueSelect DDR3-1333MHz | MiniBox M350
HTPC: AMD A6-6400k | Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI | 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600MHz | Silverstone ML03

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.