Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-06-08, 11:18 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
PhysX on NVIDIA only? - Not anymore!

A clever chap has managed to enable the PhysX layer on HD 3800 series ATI Radeon cards, and he wants to add more to the list.

Details in the news article

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-06-08, 11:22 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
I`m real confuzed. How does his score improve with hardware physx possibilies ?

And.. I do wish they`d sort out the physx drivers to hijack all those games that use the software-physx.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-06-08, 01:38 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,679
if i were him - id be hiding before the men in green suits come and get him
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-06-08, 03:41 PM
Jaster Jaster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 389
I know its a bit off topic..but its cuda related...I just noticed that elcomsoft password hacking CUDA software is listed within the CUDA developments page...clicked on more info....went to elcomsofts page...thought lets have a laugh and see how much it costs...then nearly SH*T myself at cost...

check it out

http://elcomsoft.com/eprb.html

still no sign of the physx cuda beta though ... still says "later this year"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-06-08, 04:47 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
When will PhysX be availible for all cards is what im wondering.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-06-08, 04:50 PM
Jaster Jaster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 389
all cards....i only thought it was for cuda enabled cards...if it is available on all nvidia cards do you recon this Geforce 440 mx sat next to me will have a massive performance boost
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-06-08, 04:51 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Yea but to my knowledge ATI didnt have Cuda tech.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-06-08, 04:57 PM
Jaster Jaster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 389
there using the havok engine instead of ageia physx...from what a freind of mine at infrogrammes has said the SDK's they have are pretty similar...he said its no surprise really someone has the physx running on ati...at the end of the day all gpu's are bound by dx and opengl (although dx is the most prominent) so the way they work has got to be pretty similar as they are bound by that standard...I would of thought though that Nvidia would have put some kind of restriction within the hardware....even if it was just a vendor ID tag to stop this happening...even if they have I think its evident whatever hardware protection they have is easily bypassed...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-06-08, 06:33 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
When will PhysX be availible for all cards is what im wondering.
I know there`s been Ati talk in the past regarding physics stuff, and alt to physx.

But inherently, I can see and understan that all a gfx card manuf needs to do it hijack the physx drivers - legitimately they`d need permission, I`m thinking.

But still, they *could* just attach code to an existing physx driver install and branch off it.

Can`t see it tho in this day`n`age. Every1 wants and needs to be 2000% legit or face the lawyers.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-06-08, 06:53 PM
Jaster Jaster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
I know there`s been Ati talk in the past regarding physics stuff, and alt to physx.

But inherently, I can see and understan that all a gfx card manuf needs to do it hijack the physx drivers - legitimately they`d need permission, I`m thinking.

But still, they *could* just attach code to an existing physx driver install and branch off it.

Can`t see it tho in this day`n`age. Every1 wants and needs to be 2000% legit or face the lawyers.
yep...to right...all ati will do is reverse engineer it and rebrand it ... saying that ati and intel have teamed up to face the big green machine

http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquir...-havok-physics

there has been other news about it but i cant frankly be bothered digging them all out...its interesting as larabee is beng co produced at the same time...weird intel and amd teaming up tho
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.