Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-06-08, 10:22 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
ATI Radeon 4850/4870 and 3850/3870 mix and match

Don’t get rid of your old card just yet.

Details in the news article

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-06-08, 10:26 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
It`s a great tech if it`s proven to work 100% with no effing about.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-06-08, 10:28 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
*Wonders if 2x 4870's + 1x 3870x2 would work*
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-06-08, 10:31 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
According to the thing, ur main worry is memory, in the fact that it`d obviously default to the lowest amount. But even so.. slap em in
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-06-08, 12:53 PM
Hatman Hatman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 771
Cant imagine what performance wld come out as.. wld these setups still have AA/AF issues tho :S
__________________
CM Stacker 830 | Asus P45 P5Q-E | Q6600 - 9x378 - 3400 | 2x 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 760mhz | 2 x Palit 4830 625/1880 CrossfireX | WD740 Raptor - OS | WD3200AAKS - Games | 2nd WD3200AAKS - Storage| Custom WC'ing for CPU

3dmark06 = 18k + oh yeh



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-06-08, 04:03 PM
Jaster Jaster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 389
Its brilliance if it works, however working in tech support, sales and sourcing I've got a feeling I've got a 12 month headache coming on
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-06-08, 08:44 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hatman'
Cant imagine what performance wld come out as.. wld these setups still have AA/AF issues tho :S
dunno, but the new cards don't have em so hopefully not
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-06-08, 09:05 PM
Jaster Jaster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 389
mmmm....you'd hope not...I'd hope the new card takes over the AA/AF completely....I presume it would be a driver issue...but it will be interesting to see what results come out...its kind of like alot of the newer graphics systems...hybrid graphics etc...the idea is sound...but the practicality is yet to be seen...time will tell...lets hope its successful as the two major hardware manufacturers are jumping ahead in leaps and bounds whilst the others are scraping the bottom of the barrel...we need that competitive edge back to keep pricing/performance competitive...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.