Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-04-08, 01:15 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,387
Problems overclocking Nvidia's new 790i chipset

The new Nvidia 790i chipset is reportedly already throwing up issues when overclocking with certain high speed DDR3 memory modules.

Read the full news article.

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-04-08, 01:19 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
I almost knew it was too good to be true after all the issues i had with 680i...
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-04-08, 01:44 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
hint: it's not just when overclocking
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-04-08, 02:18 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
hint: it's not just when overclocking
Serious? Oh dear Oh dear.

Silly Nvidia.

Nice Article Bungy!
__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-04-08, 02:29 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Well with as many people as i know online who has this board and DDR3, they havent had any problems at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-04-08, 02:50 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Well with as many people as i know online who has this board and DDR3, they havent had any problems at all.
Was just about to say the same thing. Maybe its a combination of certain components. I've been using the Striker II for about a month. Solid as a rock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-04-08, 02:57 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Maybe its just certain manufacturers?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-04-08, 03:06 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
I was kinda thinking something like that, that maybe it`s the mobo manufs utilitization of the chipset rather than merely the chipset itself.

Who knows, but if nVidia are doing some sorting out work on it, then they must have a finger in the problem to atleast some extent.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-04-08, 04:35 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
Did you guys get to keep it after the review? maybe when you review DDR3 you could try it on the striker let us know what does and doesnt work..
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.