Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-03-08, 03:09 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
Quad SLI doesn't work on XP!

No Quad for XP users.

News Article.

__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-03-08, 03:18 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
no big loss there to be honest
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-03-08, 03:51 PM
daniel-kun daniel-kun is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 54
I don't think that Microsoft gives a damn about the hardcore-gamer-enthuisiast clientele, so I don't think Nvidia has done this on purpose for money. I think they didn't have enough resources to support both platforms, so they decided for the more future-proof one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-03-08, 04:02 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
lol supprized ?

Think the key thing to say is that it works, just the drivers aren`t going to be officially released.

All they need now is some1 to leak em.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-03-08, 04:04 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='daniel-kun'
I don't think that Microsoft gives a damn about the hardcore-gamer-enthuisiast clientele, so I don't think Nvidia has done this on purpose for money. I think they didn't have enough resources to support both platforms, so they decided for the more future-proof one.
Nvidia, Not enough resources?
__________________
Main System: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8Ghz, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz, Geforce GTX 560 Ti

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-03-08, 04:40 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
no big loss there to be honest
That's exactly what I was thinking

Especially after reading about the frame dropping etc in dual GPU's a while ago. Seems a bit pointless to spend so much money on multiple GPU's now Altho I've never had a SLI or CrossFire setup as I've always seen it as a pointless waste of money.
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 16G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Ryzen 7 Soon?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-03-08, 04:44 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
i was thinking more along the lines of ATi + XP FTW

but ....whatever works
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-03-08, 05:12 PM
Hatman Hatman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 771
I didnt think it would work at all due to it needing 4way - afr. As in vista only.
__________________
CM Stacker 830 | Asus P45 P5Q-E | Q6600 - 9x378 - 3400 | 2x 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 760mhz | 2 x Palit 4830 625/1880 CrossfireX | WD740 Raptor - OS | WD3200AAKS - Games | 2nd WD3200AAKS - Storage| Custom WC'ing for CPU

3dmark06 = 18k + oh yeh



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-03-08, 05:48 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
you prolly need it to run friggin aero on minimal settings
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-03-08, 05:57 PM
Marcus Marcus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 654
I found out the hard way that Tri-SLI doesn't work on XP either....

2 hours spent messing around instailling loads of different drivers and a long MSN convo with Nepas and Daza later... conclusion was that whilst XP can still identify all three cards when they are plugged in, it will not allow any sort of SLI configurations.

The actual menu in Nvidia Control Panel to enable SLI wasn't there, we had to disable the middle card, re-boot and then it would use SLI on 2 of the cards.

We quickly ran some benchmarks (16k in 3DM06 on first run).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.