Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-03-08, 08:38 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Nehalem 8 Core in 2009?

Crazyness coming to a CPU near you?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-08, 08:55 PM
Phoenix Phoenix is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 418
Djeez, they're kinda stretching it now. A few days ago it was 6 cores, now 8? I mean, everybody knows that when it comes to marketing, you gotta take it easy and let a new product settle before you launch a new and better one. But anyway, technology seems to be evolving like crazy, which is a good sign, so we'll only have to wait and see
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-08, 09:11 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Programmers just don`t know what to do !

hehe I got 2 x 3800x2 machines I might wanna change out end of the year/next year.. hmmm.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-08, 09:12 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
8 core, 16 threads....if only we had a few programs that used them
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-08, 09:18 PM
Pat123 Pat123 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Uni), Darlington (Home)
Posts: 1,767
Lol, but arent the next gen quads due out the end of this year? Why bring 8 out just after? surely they would make a loss.. I guess if it was the end of 2009.

Seems abit silly, though wonderful, but few programs, games, anything, use four cores yet.

Would be a beast for benching though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-08, 09:22 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
U reckon ?

Thing about programmers these days m8, is that they enclose themselves in rules that they think will exist forever. Not their fault, it`s people with no programming initiative or lean being `taught` how to do it, they follow rules and stick to them as they`re not 100% sure why.

I`d hazard a guess that the smp module for folding would stick to 4 cores. It`s stoopid really.

Cpu test in 3dmark may just use 4 - who knows.

(actually we should know cos u can get dual socket quad processor boards)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-08, 09:37 PM
Hatman Hatman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 771
3dmark06 loves quads
__________________
CM Stacker 830 | Asus P45 P5Q-E | Q6600 - 9x378 - 3400 | 2x 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 760mhz | 2 x Palit 4830 625/1880 CrossfireX | WD740 Raptor - OS | WD3200AAKS - Games | 2nd WD3200AAKS - Storage| Custom WC'ing for CPU

3dmark06 = 18k + oh yeh



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.