Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-08-07, 10:22 AM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 4,079
MS Release Vista SP1 and XP SP3 to Testers

Microsoft is hard at work on Service Pack 1 (SP1) for Windows Vista. Microsoft's latest consumer operating system launched in November and is expected to be used by over 200 million people before the end of 2007.

Read On

Side note - I really want the wallpaper used in the SP1 screenshot...

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-07, 01:09 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
yeh, what city is that?

and this should be good SP3 finally!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-07, 08:08 PM
DavidT DavidT is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

Side note - I really want the wallpaper used in the SP1 screenshot...
Done and done: http://interfacelift.com/wallpaper/details.php?id=1341

As for SP3 for XP, so far (At it's beta stage) It's shat. Apparently it's about as stable as a 2000lbs piano standing on a porcelain vase. And don't expect many differences, it's nothing but bug fixes.

As for Vista SP1, I haven't heard anything yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-07, 07:45 AM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 4,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='DavidT'
Have some reps good sir.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-07, 02:16 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
indeed, reps coming your way!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-07, 02:36 PM
DavidT DavidT is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 321
Thanks guys

Although there isn't much to see, here are some screenshots of Vista SP1 for those who are truly interested

Desktop at bootup:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-1.png

Apparently Windows Defender is disabled by default now. Bug or "Meant to be"? Who knows:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-2.png

Windows Version:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-3.png

Others are reporting that the activation wizard in SP1 is crashing, well, not for me:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-4.png

System Information:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-5.png

Internet Explorer 7 About Diag. I didn't notice any changes in IE7 both visually and performance wise. On the other hand, I've only been running SP1 for a few minutes:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-6.png

File transfer speed has, without a doubt, been improved. I transfered a 3.06GB file from one partition to another in ~2 minutes:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-7.png

When I first booted up, Windows Update automatically downloaded and installed some updates before I got a chance to see what they were. Looking at the installed updates list showed me this:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-8.png

Interesting.

I also noticed, when I boot up, a window in my taskbar quickly appears and dissapears. Me and my "Curious George" ways, went to see if there was any new services or start up programs. Sure enough, I found this:

http://cid-261d8fb2a992b4e1.skydrive...ots/JCXP-9.png

What is it? I have absolutely no clue. Do I need it? I have absolutely no clue. Do I like it? It's called "WatchDog"... What do you think? I just disabled it so let's see what happens.

On a side note, I also noticed some minor changes to the setup process. First, right at the beggining of the instalation, after clicking "Next" and right before entering my key, there used to be a long 10-15 second pause where there was nothing but the aurora background on the screen, no text, no cursor, nothing. It seems they fixed that, there is now "Please Wait" text and the working cursor appears. Also, after the computer reboots for the first time during the setup, there used to be a black screen which said "Please wait while Windows starts for the first time..."; Not anymore, it now says "Please wait while Windows sets up your computer...".

Also, overall responsiveness of the system has definitely been optimized (I'm using the same drivers as with RTM, so that's not why). The start menu used to be laggy and Windows never seemed to respond right away when I opened them. Now, I might go as far to say, it's just as responsive as XP.

In my books, SP1 is pretty good so far, I hope to see more good come out of future "releases".

Enjoy

Edit: Sorry, Photobucket shots go screwed, so I had re-up the pics.

I originally posted these here: http://www.jcxp.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=20114
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-07, 02:56 PM
Azreil_2 Azreil_2 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 417
Nice , reps coming ur way
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-07, 04:34 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
That Windows Defender setting is exactly what greeted me opening a new Acer laptop with home premium I picked up on friday without the sp1.

Does that work out at as an improvement of a ~20mbps file transfer ? Just interested cos I`m coming to the end of a 232g transfer that has a timestamp of 3.75 hours, which is average of 17.6 mbps.. over a network. Is that a slow partition to partition speed u got there or a splendidly fast network I have here

I`d give it a bit more time to chunk down in speed. I`m assuming u`ve got the sp1 slipped into the install (the 6001 3.06 file), is that minus any other stuff to a regular install or just a plain integration with nothing messed with ?

Nice screenies, screenies = candy
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-07, 04:44 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
like the screenie's, reps

looks good, i hated vista tbh, i'm back on xp now

somtimes it was the best thing ever, but when sidebar used a gig of ram, and when explorer.exe stopped working, boy was it bloody anoying
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-07, 04:47 PM
DavidT DavidT is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 321
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

Does that work out at as an improvement of a ~20mbps file transfer ? Just interested cos I`m coming to the end of a 232g transfer that has a timestamp of 3.75 hours, which is average of 17.6 mbps.. over a network. Is that a slow partition to partition speed u got there or a splendidly fast network I have here

Nice screenies, screenies = candy
About the transfer speed, in Vista RTM, there was a "bug" where it woul take absolutely ages to transfer files from one partition to another (That 3.06GB file would have taken about 14 minutes on RTM) and it would lock up if you tried to cancel. That's what was fixed. I'm not sure about the speeds :P
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.