Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-03-16, 03:55 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Question Intel 750 SSD NVMe*PCIe* 3.0x4 (is this normal?)

I don't know if anyone can shed some light on this issue I have encountered,
I decided to order an Intel 750 ssd to replace my current samsung ssd, the problem is that it seems a little sluggish and I don't know why.
OS: Windows 7
Spec list :
Mobo : Asus Maximus vii formula
CPU : Intel i7-4790k @4.00GHz
Ram : 4x4 GB Corsair DDr3
GPU : Asus Stix GTX 980
PSU: corsair AX860i

Also an AS SSD Benchmark I just ran (normal or under performing?)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	34ea6bf80515e3ccddb0d2f5e0357f68.png
Views:	88
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	11303  

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-16, 06:04 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 849
I think this is because you're using a NVMe SSD that wasn't designed for that chipset/cpu. I'm thinking it's a bottleneck since your CPU only has 16 PCIe lanes. What else have you plugged in as extension cards other than your graphics card and the Intel SSD?

Edit: Also which PCIe slot is it located in (i.e. 16x, 8x, 4x, 1x?)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-16, 06:32 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolagarf View Post
I think this is because you're using a NVMe SSD that wasn't designed for that chipset/cpu. I'm thinking it's a bottleneck since your CPU only has 16 PCIe lanes. What else have you plugged in as extension cards other than your graphics card and the Intel SSD?

Edit: Also which PCIe slot is it located in (i.e. 16x, 8x, 4x, 1x?)
Ah okay so would you recommend I upgrade my board and cpu?

I have nothing else in the pcie slots just the ssd and the gpu,
I have put it in the bottom PCIeX1_3 slot , would the ssd work in the larger PCIe_X8_2 slot?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-16, 06:39 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 849
Try moving the SSD in the X8 slot. I checked the manual for your board, and it says the 3rd PCIe X16 slot is only PCIe 2.0. You need PCIe 3.0 for full bandwidth. Moving it up just below the graphics card in the 8X slot might fix that.

Edit: Keep in mind your graphics card might only run at x8 link speed, but there shouldn't be much of a performance loss.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-03-16, 03:45 PM
SillyOldSquid's Avatar
SillyOldSquid SillyOldSquid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 105
Send a message via Skype™ to SillyOldSquid
Thanks for the advice , I moved the ssd up to the X8 slot and it has improved the performance.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-03-16, 04:16 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by SillyOldSquid View Post
Thanks for the advice , I moved the ssd up to the X8 slot and it has improved the performance.


Awesome!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help needed please, intel, intel 750, slow, ssd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.