Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-01-19, 02:41 PM
Scoob's Avatar
Scoob Scoob is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,005
Odd Windows 10 Pagefile issue

Hi all,

This is an odd one...

I have custom page file on my D: Drive, it's always been there since the PC was built and worked just fine. Booting this machine last night, I was greeted with the "Windows has created a temporary pagefile" message and, sure enough, there's now an additional pagefile on my C: Drive. The one on my D: drive remains. However, the "total pagefile space" is that of the temporary C: drive one only.

So, in essence, Windows cannot see ANY pagefile I set up on my D: Drive any more. No matter what I do - and I know how to set up and move Pagefile.sys around - it simply cannot see ANY Pagefile other than one created on C: This system has other drives too, and Pagefiles allocated to those are also ignored.

Like many I expect, my C: drive is a small SSD whereas my D: Drive is a large conventional HDD. I know the system will run just fine most likely if I just let Windows manage things - i.e. allow it to put the Pagefile on my C: drive. However, I DON'T want this and there's no valid reason for the OS for force this on me.

Basically, Windows applied an update yesterday - not the "October" update, that still hasn't been pushed to this machine - and the very next boot I started getting this Pagefile issue, so it appear to be 100% a weird artefact of the update.

Does anyone have any ideas? Please don't post how to move my Pagefile.sys, I know how to do that. The issue is Windows NOT seeing the Pagefile unless it's on C: thus force-creating one.

I suspect this is one that'll have to be fixed by an update - Windows Update broke it, so Windows Update should fix it. I just wondered if anyone else had experienced this.

Cheers,

Scoob.

__________________
Intel 2500k @ 4.6 | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro | 4x 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM @ 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 2gb | 2x Kingston SSD-Now 120gb (RAID 0) + Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb + Samsung Spinpoint 1tb | CM 690 II Lite case | Corsair AX860i PSU | LG 24" LCD display @ 1920x1200 | Windows 10 Pro. 64

Custom Loop: EK Supreme HF Black Acetal CPU Block | 2x Alphacool NexXxoS ATXP Black Brushed Stainless Steel GPU blocks | External Phobya 1080 rad in Bench Edition Chassis | Alphacool D5 Pump + high-flow top | EK Adv. Cylinder Reservoir | Phobya G-Silent 180mm fans (shrouded) | Phobya External 90w PSU
.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-01-19, 03:55 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 571
You are adjusting all these settings exclusively through this menu right? I wouldn't really recommend going about it any other way.


If you've tried manually deleted the pagefile.sys & recreating them through that menu, then maybe Windows doesn't like the format or speed of your D drive, is it GPT partitioned & NTFS formatted?
__________________
Electrical engineer with a passion for rambling.

Check out my latest piece of commissioned work: http://ehenleyshutters.com/novo-in-black/
[It's a company page not run by me, I just did the electronics & software design work]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-01-19, 04:28 PM
Scoob's Avatar
Scoob Scoob is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,005
Everything is configured fine, it simply stopped recognising the Pagefile when on any drive other than C: after Windows updated yesterday. Drive is GPT & NTFS same as it always has been. I have a lot of data on it, so backing up and reformatting would take some time.

I find it a really odd bug that while I can set Pagefiles just fine - it appears to work & asks for a restart as you'd expect. After restarting a pagefile of the selected size has been created but, unless it's on the C drive it simply isn't recognised. Even if I select to remove ALL pagefiles, Windows insists on creating a "temporary" one on C: upon restart. I run other W10 machines just fine with no Pagefile at all, so something fundamental has been broken by the update with this particular hardware config.

It's very odd! I've never experienced issues allocating pagefile.sys before, it's fairly rudimentary stuff after all. Definitely a Windows bug of some sort I think.


FYI: this is on an older machine, a Q6700, GTX 570 with 8gb RAM - still a great system for what it does, no issues other than this odd one.

Scoob.
__________________
Intel 2500k @ 4.6 | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro | 4x 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM @ 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 2gb | 2x Kingston SSD-Now 120gb (RAID 0) + Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb + Samsung Spinpoint 1tb | CM 690 II Lite case | Corsair AX860i PSU | LG 24" LCD display @ 1920x1200 | Windows 10 Pro. 64

Custom Loop: EK Supreme HF Black Acetal CPU Block | 2x Alphacool NexXxoS ATXP Black Brushed Stainless Steel GPU blocks | External Phobya 1080 rad in Bench Edition Chassis | Alphacool D5 Pump + high-flow top | EK Adv. Cylinder Reservoir | Phobya G-Silent 180mm fans (shrouded) | Phobya External 90w PSU
.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, pagefile, windows 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.