Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-04-11, 06:12 AM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
So my SECOND 6990 came in today after returning my Sapphire 6990 for making a buzzing/squealing sound.

This only happens in 3D applications and during the 3D application the buzzing intensifies depending on how much is going on in the game (it is directly correlated to how much GPU usage there is, the lower the usage the less noise, and so on). The more going on the higher pitch and louder the noise.

This also happens when my FPS goes above 40FPS in some apps, and in other it is 60FPS. If i enable Vsink in my most of my 3D apps the buzzing stops.

Sense this is my second 6990 with the same problem i am becoming more convinced that it is not the card itself rather the PSU. Let me remind you, the buzzing IS coming from the GPU. From what i have been reading some either older PSUs or week PSUs can make a GPU (or other computer component) make noises due to lack of power coming from the PSU.

Is this true?

My PSU is a BFG1000w so it would fall under the category of "old."

Could my PSU be the reason for my 6990 buzzing?

PS: i wont be able to test if it is my PSU until tomorrow.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-04-11, 06:59 AM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
might be the output cable to the monitor as well since when you enable vsync it goes away why not leave vsync on???? it doesnt hamper performance from what i know. it just syncs the vc to ur monitors capability.
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-04-11, 07:01 AM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post

might be the output cable to the monitor as well since when you enable vsync it goes away why not leave vsync on???? it doesnt hamper performance from what i know. it just syncs the vc to ur monitors capability.
I have already tried all the outputs on the card, and the same thing happens. Also some games with vsync on, it makes the mouse lag.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-04-11, 10:19 AM
GuyIncognito GuyIncognito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
I'm not an electrical engineer, but from what I've read on forums, an inductor can make noise. Maybe, it's just poor design.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-04-11, 10:32 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,964
If its doing it under load then........................... thats normal. Try watching the video review I made
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-04-11, 12:27 PM
Ya93sin's Avatar
Ya93sin Ya93sin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 1,517
Have you got a second Sapphire one or did you get a different brand this time?

And the noise is completely normal, its probably the most offputting thing about the card, and probably the reason why many went for the 590.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-04-11, 03:04 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

If its doing it under load then........................... thats normal. Try watching the video review I made
i did see your review, but i do not recall you saying anything about a buzzing sound?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-04-11, 03:04 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ya93sin View Post

Have you got a second Sapphire one or did you get a different brand this time?

And the noise is completely normal, its probably the most offputting thing about the card, and probably the reason why many went for the 590.
I went with diamond.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-04-11, 03:09 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by KING_OF_SAND View Post

i did see your review, but i do not recall you saying anything about a buzzing sound?
IN the video it clearly showed the insane ammount of noise from the card. It was one of my main reasons for prefering the 590.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-04-11, 03:14 PM
KING_OF_SAND KING_OF_SAND is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

IN the video it clearly showed the insane ammount of noise from the card. It was one of my main reasons for prefering the 590.
I thought that was just the fan you were referring too. I am watching it again anyways I am not coherent right now, its 7am.

At least my diamond 6990 is a hell of a lot quieter than my sapphire one. my sapphire was making a REALLY loud squealing that was even louder than the fan at 100%. also i have a video you can see were i recorded the clicking.


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.