Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Serious Discussion
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-08-19, 05:02 PM
SebastianAltena's Avatar
SebastianAltena SebastianAltena is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 63
Question Help identifying retro keyboard interface and adapting it to USB

Hello, I don't know if this is the right thread to post this but OC3D does not appear to have dedicated peripherals thread which is perplexing.
Anyway someone gave me a box full of old keyboards, most of them are IBM model m replacements with ALPS clicky switches, however one that I really like has cherry red switches and it also has telephone cable like interface that I have never seen before; Does anyone know how I can adapt it to USB? It fells really nice and I would like to use it on modern machine.
Keyboard does not have a lot of branding on it but I have attached photos of it if that helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190831_144418.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	12672   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190831_144443.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	12673   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190831_144458.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	12674  


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-08-19, 05:46 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
This guy seems to know https://forum.level1techs.com/t/how-...onnector/99182 (You could do it without cutting the wires if you got a 4P4C plug for that connector and wired that up to the ATmega board rather than the wires directly if you didn't want to break anything open)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-19, 02:00 PM
SebastianAltena's Avatar
SebastianAltena SebastianAltena is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
This guy seems to know https://forum.level1techs.com/t/how-...onnector/99182 (You could do it without cutting the wires if you got a 4P4C plug for that connector and wired that up to the ATmega board rather than the wires directly if you didn't want to break anything open)
Thanks, I got it working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.