Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Rig Gallery
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-04-19, 06:33 AM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,321
An old man's first all AMD rig ever!

G'day mates! Happy Good Friday / Easter and all that good food chocolate bunny stuff! Hope you are all eating and drinking merrily!

I haven't posted much of anything lately as far as build stuff goes. But I did pick up some new toys recently, the main one being a Radeon VII GPU, Gigabyte variant (because that's what was in stock). I bought it to replace the GPUs in my 'backup' rig, a pair of old GTX980s. This accidentally lead to me building my first all-AMD rig ever. I've been building PCs since the 386 days, so I thought that was somehow noteworthy. Since I am a born sucker, all my rigs are under water these days. Which leads to the specs:

Radeon R7 1700 (non-X) on Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370
Heatkiller IV CPU block (clear acrylic)
16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 DDR4 - 8GB x 2 (currently running at 3200CL14)
1TB Intel 600p NVME SSD
Gigabyte Radeon VII 16GB with EK Vector RGB GPU block (nickel acrylic block, nickel back plate)
Alphacool XT45 crossflow radiator in the roof / 3 x Phanteks 140mm SP fans
Darkside LP240 radiator in the front / 2 x 120mm PWM Darkside Gentle Typhoons
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe case / D5 strong pump with EK top res combo / Barrow flow meter, Darkside 3/8 5/8 fittings and clear tube
AOC AG352UCG 35" 3440x1440 100hz monitor, Gsync (lulz)

Plus a pair of Aquacomputer RGB LED strips running on a AQ Farbwerk. I named it Furby.




It's not this purple IRL, I swear. I'm just a moron who doesn't know how to take good pics with my new phone (OnePlus 6T). New Barrow flow meter, because I like to monitor things:


The CPU is not overclocked, since it's really not worth it with first gen Ryzen. But the latest AMD GPU drivers have some interesting features, like auto undervolting, auto overlocking, etc. I have the GPU currently OCed a bit, with the core sitting at an upper 'boost' limit of 2125mhz. Here's a shot after a Time Spy run:



Overall system performs respectably, but won't be competing with Kaapstad anytime soon.




Cheers folks!

__________________
Guts: Ryzen 3900X / GB Aorus Master / 16GB TridentZ 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Corsair Force MP600 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 240 rad / Heatkiller reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-04-19, 04:54 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Very nice bud, Welcome to the all AMD club
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-04-19, 05:09 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,893
Looking good brah.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-04-19, 10:12 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Very Nice Dude!
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-04-19, 08:46 AM
Thanos's Avatar
Thanos Thanos is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 29
Nice.

How old do you have to be to be old?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-04-19, 10:37 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,321
Maybe I'm abusing the word old since I'm only 48. Few more shots of the finished product:





Take about shiny:






Got the light sorted better, light strips are set to full white, mobo and GPU block are set to light purple. This thing really needs a vertical mounted GPU mod in the worst way!
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 3900X / GB Aorus Master / 16GB TridentZ 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Corsair Force MP600 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 240 rad / Heatkiller reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-04-19, 10:31 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,893
D'you know about the only thing I didn't get for my upgrade was that little screen on the GPU.

As the law of sod would denote, I bloody want one now.

Damn you and your old age!
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-04-19, 11:12 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
I'll say one thing. The flow meter reading. Damn good loop speed going on in there!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-04-19, 01:44 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
I'll say one thing. The flow meter reading. Damn good loop speed going on in there!
That might be lying. My Koolance meters all read around 2.7LPM for a single D5 in an average loop. This one reads WAY higher. The Koolance models have a little switch for tube size, and that Barrow meter doesn't. So I have no idea which one is right, or if they're both arse. Either way, it's a lovely little meter, only requires a 3-pin fan connection due to the low power screen, whereas the Koolance ones all require molex (shudder).
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 3900X / GB Aorus Master / 16GB TridentZ 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Corsair Force MP600 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 240 rad / Heatkiller reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-04-19, 05:43 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
That might be lying. My Koolance meters all read around 2.7LPM for a single D5 in an average loop. This one reads WAY higher. The Koolance models have a little switch for tube size, and that Barrow meter doesn't. So I have no idea which one is right, or if they're both arse. Either way, it's a lovely little meter, only requires a 3-pin fan connection due to the low power screen, whereas the Koolance ones all require molex (shudder).
Well one way to find out is figure out what speed your D5 is running at, Approx, then look at the rating of the pump.

2.7 is low where as the reading on the barrow unit is just above the ideal flow rate. Hopefully the barrow reading is correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.