Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-02-19, 08:06 PM
AndyIoW AndyIoW is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Fresh install of Win10 not working

Hello and I am hoping you might be able to help solve a problem.

I have a laptop that had Win 10 Home pre installed on it.
Now I have tried the pro version on a desktop and like it so I am currently trying, being the operative word at the moment, to put in on my laptop.

I have downloaded the clean I shall creation tool from the Microsoft onto a usb drive. Put in a M2 SSD, only bound out it had a slot over the weekend for one, and then rebooted the laptop and did the custom install.
Every time it comes back as the home Product ID. Am I doing something silly or at least point me in the right direction.
At this rate the laptop is going to head towards the window.

Laptop is an Acer Aspire e5-575 I5 Gen7 with a 256 M.2 with 16gb of RAM.

Thank you all for my lack of knowledge.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-19, 08:08 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,687
Your laptop came with a Home license so installing a Pro version is not valid for the hardware registration at microsoft, unless you also get a new key for the Pro version.


If you reinstall Home on your laptop it should just activate and work again without issues, or buy a pro key and add it to your current installation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-19, 08:18 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,899
If you want to install pro on there you need a license for it. Your serial number is stored int he UEFI in the bios, meaning that it will usually auto detect it and install the corresponding OS. The only way to change that is to force it to install Pro, then replace the serial with a Pro key.

It will let you install Pro but you will have a water mark and certain features will be disabled. Also, be careful these days too as if you are using a different M$ account on the rig you will need a new serial, as I found out the other week.

Like a belm when I installed 10 Pro I logged in using my secondary Outlook account (well, total M$ account including my Xbox and etc) and it refused to activate. You can't change users until you activate it, and of course I could not as I was signed in with the wrong account. So I was faced with either redoing the two days of messing around installing stuff or buying a new serial.

You can get them for about £10-£15 on Amazon. They're OEM keys, probably from servers that were never used with Windows. Mine have all worked fine (I've had three now).
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-19, 09:10 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
As the others said you need to buy a Pro license as since you are on Home you need to "upgrade" to Pro
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-19, 09:19 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,486
If you want to stay with pro you can buy a key for about £10 buddy
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-02-19, 04:31 AM
AndyIoW AndyIoW is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3
Thanks guys.

I have a keycode for pro that 'supposed' to work with a clean install which I thought I was doing.

The desktop I have, where I had another keynote for it and it was a clean install worked fine.

Looks like a bit more research doing as it was a factory installed W10 Home.
Rather frustrating.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.