Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-01-19, 10:35 AM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 493
New basic NAS build

well im feed up of having now storage already and wanted to build a basic NAS that i can store videos, documents, photos etc on and just after some advice as to specs

at the moment ive been looking at

CPU
Intel Pentium gold G5400 or Intel Celeron G4920

Motherboard
Asrock Intel 7370M-ITX/ac

RAM
8GB Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 2666MHz

M.2 drive for OS
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB

PSU
Be Quiet Pure Power 11 400W

Hard Drives for storage
unsure which drives to use, i had been looking at Western Digital and Seagate drives

just after your thoughts on the above setup and if maybe you would change anything.

i wanted to try and keep it small form factor as i planned to have it sat in my office on display. once my home network is complete this NAS will only be used to store work files (wiring diagrams, invoices etc) and a second server will be used for personal storage

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-01-19, 11:29 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,040
I'm currently planning a similar NAS, but using AMD AM4 instead of Intel Z370.

What are you planning on using on the software side? A Samsung 970 EVO could be a little overkill for what you are building. For example, a lot of FreeNAS used use USB memory sticks instead of internal drives.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-01-19, 06:57 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
I'm currently planning a similar NAS, but using AMD AM4 instead of Intel Z370.

What are you planning on using on the software side? A Samsung 970 EVO could be a little overkill for what you are building. For example, a lot of FreeNAS used use USB memory sticks instead of internal drives.
ahh id not thought of using an AM4 AMD CPu and board.

looking at running FreeNAS and yes i know the EVO is overkill but i dont want to use a memory stick for the fear of it getting broken some how while its sitting on the desk and i dont have space for a 2.5 inch drive so the M.2 drive was the next best option.

i did use a memory stick when i first had a play with FreeNAS and it worked well so i do agree it would be a good option but i know people here can be heavy handed with stuff when cleaning/dusting etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-01-19, 08:37 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,459
You can get a USB header -> USB port adapter so you can plug the memory stick in internally.

https://www.egenisys.co.uk/startech-...eader-f-f.html

AM1 might also be worth considering if you don't need much CPU grunt, you can get AM1 APUs for about £15 and MITX boards for about £40.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-01-19, 10:57 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 492
I used 7x WD Se 2TB drives in my nas (build log on that here) which has so far run faultlessly since 2014. I'm planning on adding some more drives to my array with the current enterprise class drives being WD ultrastar.

That said, most people seem to go with reds but personally, the enterprise disks are in some cases cheaper and have better specs and the same 5 year warranty.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-19, 09:14 AM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
You can get a USB header -> USB port adapter so you can plug the memory stick in internally.

https://www.egenisys.co.uk/startech-...eader-f-f.html

AM1 might also be worth considering if you don't need much CPU grunt, you can get AM1 APUs for about £15 and MITX boards for about £40.
thanks for that i may well end up going down that route for using a memory stick.

i did look at the amd stuff but found that all the itx boards seem to only have 4 sata ports on them where as the Intel ones have 6 ports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei View Post
I used 7x WD Se 2TB drives in my nas (build log on that here) which has so far run faultlessly since 2014. I'm planning on adding some more drives to my array with the current enterprise class drives being WD ultrastar.

That said, most people seem to go with reds but personally, the enterprise disks are in some cases cheaper and have better specs and the same 5 year warranty.
yes i will admit that i was looking at using WD Red drives or the Seagate Ironwolf drives but maybe its worth looking around again.

my other issue with running a ITX board is only 6 sata ports and only a PCI-e x16 slot. i was hoping to be able to run up to 12 drives in this but im unsure if id be able to get a raid card to support extra drives or not
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-19, 12:04 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 492
In principal, you'd need a host bus adaptor (HBA) that supports initiator target mode. (IT mode) A normal HBA will create arrays itself and present the OS with disks configured using it's own software. In IT mode, the HBA presents each individual disk connected to it to the OS so that you can do your own thing with software raid solutions. I stuck with good old hardware raid.

Each mini SAS port, usually SFF-8087, supports a breakout of 4x SAS/SATA ports, meaning 4 drives per port. This is why I have a SAS expander card in my system, which expands my 8 port HBA to a maximum of 24 ports. If I added a second expander to the HBA, I could push it up to 40 ports.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-19, 01:08 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei View Post
In principal, you'd need a host bus adaptor (HBA) that supports initiator target mode. (IT mode) A normal HBA will create arrays itself and present the OS with disks configured using it's own software. In IT mode, the HBA presents each individual disk connected to it to the OS so that you can do your own thing with software raid solutions. I stuck with good old hardware raid.

Each mini SAS port, usually SFF-8087, supports a breakout of 4x SAS/SATA ports, meaning 4 drives per port. This is why I have a SAS expander card in my system, which expands my 8 port HBA to a maximum of 24 ports. If I added a second expander to the HBA, I could push it up to 40 ports.
would you recommend anything for the above job, somethings thats easy to work with, would work with a single pci-e x16 slot?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-19, 01:44 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 492
If you are looking for a card that supports IT mode for software raid, I don't really know them well enough to advise on models. A good guide is available on the freenas forums here regarding LSI cards and their re-branded equivalents.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-19, 08:40 PM
Pugsport Pugsport is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei View Post
If you are looking for a card that supports IT mode for software raid, I don't really know them well enough to advise on models. A good guide is available on the freenas forums here regarding LSI cards and their re-branded equivalents.
thanks for the information mate, ill give it a read or two when i get time

on a side not are you using your NAS with a gigabit network or have you gone faster?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.