Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Serious Discussion
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-01-19, 05:07 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Bamboozaled can you help?

So I know there's a lot of clever people on here lets see if maybe you can't help me solve this little dilemma my ISP is also stumped!
So here we go I have two machines connected to the net via the same modem one is wifi the other is network cable.


Network cable send/receive is 1000/1000, is running Windows pro 1809 and the max down is 91 and the max up never goes above 25 for specs of system see sig only 16 gig ram though.


WiFi send/receive 600/144 is running Windows home 1809 and the max down never goes above 50 and the up varies up to 36 it's a 2600k on a gigabyte sniper with 16g of ram on a dlink 548.


Have tried my Fritzbox 4790 as wel l as a Billion 8700AXL-1600 with exact same results.
How in the name of all is this even possible?

__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-01-19, 08:54 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,258
Sorry, what's the issue?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-01-19, 09:42 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Basically I have 100 down 40 up and one machine won't upload above 25 whilst the other does 36 and one won't download above 50 whilst the other one does 91 and not at the same time, when both machine theoretically are capable of 91 down and 36 up
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-01-19, 10:46 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,258
How are you testing this?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-01-19, 08:57 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
With speedtest.net the reason why it's really an issue for me is the rig I mainly use my sig, is not connecting to the net properly despite having 91 down.
At first I thought it was Chrome playing up I get constant establishing secure connection then the website won't open, Youtube opening without any pics and no comments, so I swapped over to Firefox now I get the same thing with Youtube I had a 502 error to here and I get really long performing TLS handshake and the the website is unable to open.


I've just formatted my machine with the same errors occurring. yet the other machine with the wifi card doesn't do it
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-01-19, 09:07 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
An example of an error I get











and once I refresh the page


__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-01-19, 09:36 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,873
Have you tried using a different DNS? like, Google's DNS?

https://developers.google.com/speed/...dns/docs/using
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-01-19, 09:47 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,497
Try both wired and see if there is a difference..

And never use a web based speed test, they are very unreliable, use iperf3 open a cmd windows and run the following :

iperf3 -c 178.208.14.117 -P 8 -p 5202 -R -t 20

This is a 10gb/s server with very little traffic running across it.

https://iperf.fr/download/windows/iperf-3.1.3-win64.zip

Here is my test running from my home ISP running during a busy period :

[SUM] 0.00-20.00 sec 15.3 GBytes 6.56 Gbits/sec sender
[SUM] 0.00-20.00 sec 15.3 GBytes 6.56 Gbits/sec receiver

iperf Done.
__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.275v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - Corsair 3000mhz CL16 LED 4x16GB SKHYNIX - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110i - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-01-19, 09:49 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
No I haven't and I shouldn't really need to as one machine does it whilst the other doesn't and none of it makes any sense.
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-01-19, 09:50 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Try both wired and see if there is a difference..
I can't as the wifi machines nic is dead hence the wifi card
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.