Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-08-18, 08:44 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 629
Steam Play Linux Testing

I figured I'd start a thread to document my testing of the new Steam Play Beta on Linux. A short list of games are whitelisted by Steam, but you can override this and try any game. So far I haven't done much:


Hardware: Ryzen 5 1600, RX Vega 56
Software: Latest Mesa drivers, latest Vulkan patches.

DOOM (2016):
- Whitelisted.
- Runs at 60FPS locked; 1440p, max settings, Vulkan API.
- No option to select 2160p even though I have a 2160p monitor.

Elite Dangerous:
- Not whitelisted.
- Wouldn't start.

Project CARS:
- Not whitelisted.
- Starts.
- Cannot save the game, error boxes presented whenever the game tries to autosave.
- Extremely poor performance; I didn't properly analyse but it was choppy as hell at default settings.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-08-18, 08:46 AM
SPS SPS is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,258
This is a great idea. I've changed the title to include Linux as I was confused at first, hope you don't mind.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-08-18, 08:51 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
This is a great idea. I've changed the title to include Linux as I was confused at first, hope you don't mind.
Not at all, thank you very much.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-08-18, 10:55 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,496
Here's a spreadsheet aiming to do the same thing:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...x0tyGa/pubhtml

I'm running Arch with proprietary Nvidia drivers, 8700k/GTX 970.

I tested Wreckfest myself, which ran worse than on Windows but singleplayer seemed flawless - but multiplayer server browser caused it to hang. The game also didn't offer refresh rates in excess of 60, but with G-Sync it had no problems pushing higher frame rates.

Fallout New Vegas refused to start, complained about no audio devices.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-08-18, 02:00 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,614
Very impressive guys! I'm tempted to grab a new Distro and join in.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-08-18, 02:06 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,870
I know I will end up bored this winter and trying this out

Great idea for a thread man.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-08-18, 02:50 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,369
Running with Manjaro XFCE 17.1.12 with 4.14.65 kernel system specs below
I will be testing out the following games. Soon as I figure out how to add my steam drives to linux
  • Total War Warhammer
  • Total War Warhammer II
  • Arma 3
  • Sniper Elite 3
  • Hearts of Iron IV
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-08-18, 03:19 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,496
You need to mount them with ntfs-3g, assuming they're Windows drives. I'm not sure if it's included by default, you might need to install it.

You can just do it mounting manually:

mount /dev/sdXY /mnt/NAME

You get the device id, for instance /dev/sdb3 with the lsblk command and the folder also needs to exist and be empty, use mkdir for that. Oh and an elevated prompt so either use sudo or just ascent to root with sudo su.

If you want them to mount automatically on system boot (keep in mind mounting NTFS on Linux slows down your boot time measurably, in the neighbourhood of 1 second), you can add them to /etc/fstab.

Here is a decent article for that.

I'd also prefer using UUID in fstab over the /dev/sdXY as said in that wiki article. You can get the uuid with the blkid command, so "blkid /dev/sdXY" as an example.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-08-18, 04:10 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
You need to mount them with ntfs-3g, assuming they're Windows drives. I'm not sure if it's included by default, you might need to install it.

You can just do it mounting manually:

mount /dev/sdXY /mnt/NAME

You get the device id, for instance /dev/sdb3 with the lsblk command and the folder also needs to exist and be empty, use mkdir for that. Oh and an elevated prompt so either use sudo or just ascent to root with sudo su.

If you want them to mount automatically on system boot (keep in mind mounting NTFS on Linux slows down your boot time measurably, in the neighbourhood of 1 second), you can add them to /etc/fstab.

Here is a decent article for that.

I'd also prefer using UUID in fstab over the /dev/sdXY as said in that wiki article. You can get the uuid with the blkid command, so "blkid /dev/sdXY" as an example.
Cheers matey will try do it that way once I figure which sdb, sdc or sdd refers to which drives.
Positive I did this with an app last time.
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-08-18, 04:34 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,496
Well, you can get quite far with just lsblk and blkid, if you want something similar to Windows' partition manager you can install gparted. It shows the /dev/sdXY as well. It's mainly a partitioning tool though so avoid hitting Apply in this case.

Edit: Oh there are graphical tools for it, KDiskFree seems quite decent.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.