Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 16-01-16, 12:36 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I've not tested GTAV yet (I didn't realise I had it installed) but will later. Apparently Crossfire has been a bit up and down on it but I will know more later

Ed. I have Thief installed too I think..

Ed2. Realised that the Thief I have is not legit (I've never played it to be fair) so I just bought it for £4.42 and will install and test later with GTAV !
Thief has an epic benchmark built in.

GTA V should be fine in crossfire, MrKambo used to use the 295x2 when we game, with great results.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16-01-16, 12:37 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,885
Both added guys cheers !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Thief has an epic benchmark built in.

GTA V should be fine in crossfire, MrKambo used to use the 295x2 when we game, with great results.
Yeah but lately I have been hearing that game udpates have fudged it completely. As I say, much conflicting info on the net = head hurts...

Edit. Just attempted to launch GTAV and it wants to install a, wait for it, 2.5gb update. Yikes ! that's a fat old lump of data. As soon as it's finished I will give it a good testing. I clearly remember before my FPS were max 53 with averages around 38-40. If I start hitting the 60 FPS mark I will know it's working properly

Edit yet again. OK so fair play, Crossfire X is absolutely awesome in GTAV. Now absolutely jammed at 60 FPS.. Adding now
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16-01-16, 04:10 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
GTA V works well with Tri-SLI (780) but not so much with Quad-SLI (Titan X). I'm intrigued to try it with Quad-SLI 780Ti's when I get Lightning set up right to see if it was the game or just the board/memory causing issues for the Titan X's.

It scales phenomenally well between single, dual and triple SLI though.

JR
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16-01-16, 04:32 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,615
Aye I have solid 60fps at 60Hz in GTA its glorious and with all that ultra grass.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16-01-16, 04:46 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Aye I have solid 60fps at 60Hz in GTA its glorious and with all that ultra grass.
Yup, hella sweet tbh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
GTA V works well with Tri-SLI (780) but not so much with Quad-SLI (Titan X). I'm intrigued to try it with Quad-SLI 780Ti's when I get Lightning set up right to see if it was the game or just the board/memory causing issues for the Titan X's.

It scales phenomenally well between single, dual and triple SLI though.

JR
From what I remember reading for each technology you need to fully support it. So SLI = its own support. Tri SLI = its own support and Quad SLI = its own support.

It came from an interview I read with the devs of Bioshock (so years ago). I'm not sure if anything has changed since tbh.

Many years ago (on these very forums) I bought a pair of 3870x2 for £40 each and for ***** and giggles I benched them with all of the (at the time) modern games. IIRC the only game that worked properly with Quadfire was BF:BC2 and hilariously the two old hoovers actually put my 5770 Crossfire to shame.

Sadly the same couldn't be said for pretty much all of the other games I tested. Batman (the first one) showed absolutely enormous gains but sadly the min FPS was dire and the micro stutter was just tragic. Obviously I know why that was happening now but at the time it was quite frustrating.

I've been busy at work today and have added quite a few extra games. All of the Borderlands and Thief etc. I'm starting to run out of space to download the games now so will have a clearout later and then install some more from my Steam list tomorrow and give them a try.

From what I have heard Star Wars (that new one) does not work with Crossfire or SLI yet and apparently (according to AMDMatt) is awaiting a code update to address this.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 16-01-16, 11:49 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Bio Shock Infinite
Crossfire and SLI
Both work Fine
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17-01-16, 06:44 AM
MrKambo's Avatar
MrKambo MrKambo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London blaadd!
Posts: 3,322
Send a message via Skype™ to MrKambo
I've had very consistent performance with Crossfire in GTA V, there was only one driver revision that broke it but that was 4/5 revs ago, but recently it has been scaling so well i was literally shocked
__________________
steam|origin|insta:mrkambo
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17-01-16, 07:28 AM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,437
These are what I have noticed with games that I have played or at least benchmarked after graphics cards upgrade.


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Elite Dangerous

Does it work - Perfectly, does suffer from occasional frame drop but that is believed to be a game issue. In terms of Crossfire X according to posts on the Frontier Forums there is no Crossfire profile for it so Crossfire will not enable, however I cannot test or confirm this issue.


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Call Of Duty Black Op's 3

Does it work - Almost Perfect, does suffer from some microstutter and the occasional frame drops mainly when recording at 4K with Shadowplay.


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Titanfall

Does it work - Yes but suffers from weird lights popping up in the maps through walls and the occasional texture issue, game is also has a frame rate cap locked to the monitors refresh rate.


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Call Of Duty Black Op's

Does it work - Perfectly


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Crysis 3

Does it work - Perfectly


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Metro 2033

Does it work - Perfectly, based of benchmark runs I did when testing GTX 780Ti SLI compared to GTX 980Ti SLI @4K


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Metro Last Light

Does it work - Perfectly, based of benchmark runs I did when testing GTX 780Ti SLI compared to GTX 980Ti SLI @4K


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Tomb Raider

Does it work - Perfectly, based of benchmark runs I did when testing GTX 780Ti SLI compared to GTX 980Ti SLI @4K


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Dirt 3

Does it work - Perfectly, based of benchmark runs I did when testing GTX 780Ti SLI compared to GTX 980Ti SLI @4K


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Bioshock Infinite

Does it work - Perfectly, based of benchmark runs I did when testing GTX 780Ti SLI compared to GTX 980Ti SLI @4K


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Batman Arkham City

Does it work - Yes but with what seemed like poor scaling, based of benchmark runs I did when testing GTX 780Ti SLI compared to GTX 980Ti SLI @4K



Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Call Of Duty Ghosts

Does it work - Yes but suffers from extreme microstutter, frame drops and optimisation issues.


Multi GPU type - SLI

Game - Call Of Duty Advanced Warfare

Does it work - Yes but suffers from extreme microstutter, frame drops and optimisation issues and also some mouse input lag when SLI is enabled.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17-01-16, 10:38 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,885
Wicked I will add those later (when I'm totally awake). I fear if I tried now I would just mess it right up

Coffeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17-01-16, 11:03 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Oh and Starwars Battlefront was fine with SLI
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.