Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Sub-Zero Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 24-02-15, 01:37 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
all 4 of them are on 24/7.

__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24-02-15, 01:39 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
This Thread is 2 months old. I remember this whole Saga.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24-02-15, 02:47 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles1980 View Post
i have seen people make phase coolers out of an old refrigerator/freezer and then hook them up in to a pc case lol.
Not pretty. Definatly not quiet! but quite effective.
personally i try to keep everything at the same temp 24/7
I gave up at trying to have it a constant ambient temp its just not possible with over clocking and processor heavy tasks.
So i keep the system at safe temps and just dont switch it off ever. Atleast then its never cooling down to far.
Rubbish !!!



http://www.ldcooling.com/shop/l/85-l...se-change.html

Little Devil make very nice looking Phase Change computer cases and there is not a problem with longevity either.

At some point in the future I may build a PC using a case like the one above.

@TTL have you thought about doing a review with the above using Phase Change cooling.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24-02-15, 03:12 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
how is that even remotely a home made phase changer made from an old freezer lol?

the home made things tend to come out looking more like this.

and sound a bit like an industrial freezer working 10x harder than it should do.
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24-02-15, 03:24 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles1980 View Post
how is that even remotely a home made phase changer made from an old freezer lol?

the home made things tend to come out looking more like this.

and sound a bit like an industrial freezer working 10x harder than it should do.
The point I am making is Phase Change does not have to look crap or be unreliable.

I also misread your previous post and though you were inferring that all Phase Change looked bad.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 24-02-15, 03:38 PM
shambles1980's Avatar
shambles1980 shambles1980 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North wales
Posts: 1,185
nope lol just mentioning i have seen people do it.
Personally i wont phase change. In the past possibly but you will most likely kill your cpu from over voltage before you would actually need a phase change cooling solution these days. (although you could argue that some of the amd chips could benifit)

It would be nice to always have my system at 20'c whether it was off or on. idle or under full load. but there is no solution that can do that. water is the one that does come the closest to keeping temperatures regulated imo. But you start having to have a lot of rad space if you want it close to ambient under all situations.
__________________
i7 2600, intel dz77sl-50k, 16gb 1600 DDR3, 900d case, gtx 780 @ 1306/1727 "xspc block", 1x 240 1x360 1x480 rads 2 bay res, http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14829772
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26-09-15, 05:05 AM
FunkyMonkey FunkyMonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 7
There are people who have built and do run the system using custom build phase change cooling.
A fellow member and friend of mine from another community has built a 24x7 working phase change rig. He is even registered here

Member : http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=351776

And this is how it turned out







Check out his build log : http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=351776

Completely DIY from scratch. When ready made solutions are not available, creative and knowledgeable people like him find a way.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16-10-15, 01:38 PM
BluD BluD is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 33
Loads of people used to run 24/7 phase change rigs about 10 years ago when the retail units were a reasonable price. I had a e6600 running for years until the unit gave in and i was only playing WoW so didnt see the point of getting it repaired and regassed. I ran loads of setups through that rig from a amd 1800xp all teh way through the FX range then switched over to intel for the 6600. There were many other people doing the same thing on teh forums so it was possible, but i wouldnt recommend it if you have to pay the electric bill
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16-10-15, 06:17 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Delete lol. Phone error
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28-12-15, 10:35 PM
Rasmus66's Avatar
Rasmus66 Rasmus66 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
I think that the cpus used for record breaking if they don't actually die during the setting up they will die shortly after they are being powered off because of that. Still fun submerging a rad under a couple bags of ice though
Couldn't be more wrong.

Most of the cpu's and gfx used for world records works fine after benching is done.

Do you really think that a guy like lets say Kingpin or Splave for that matter just makes the record in one session?

It's weeks of hard work that pays of in maybe one session with a record.

My 2600K cpu has spent most of it times at 5 ghz or at it max of 5.7 Ghz with subzero temps and the chip is as good as when i started benching with it for the first time.
__________________
Voltage - The cause and the solution to all our problems
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.