Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-03-05, 12:30 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,959
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Guide: Jump Starting a PSU

How To Jump Start a PSU

Introduction

This guide has been created for everyone that doesn't already know how to jump start a psu.

What is jump starting? Jump starting is tricking your PSU into thinking that the power button on your computer has been pushed, making the psu switch on without the need for a motherboard or any switches.

You may be asking yourself why you would ever need to jump start a psu. The answer is, you never know when you might have to! Take for instance testing new devices / equipment outside of the case when you don't have your motherboard wired or powered up. For us water coolers out there, we have to do an initial 12-24 hour leak test of our systems before installing components. How do you suspect we do that without a motherboard? Answer: Jump start! Trust me this will come in handy some day even if you can't think of a reason that you'd ever have to do this right now.

What tools will I need?



This is probably the easiest thing to do on a computer, here's what you will need:

- Power supply (duh!)



- Paper clip or wire (I prefer the paper clip trick, u can find one anywhere )



Yup that's it. So basically all u really need is a paper clip, rofl

How do I do this?

Alright, here comes the easy part, and the only part! w00t w00t. Grab ahold of your ATX connector and search for the GREEN wire and ANY BLACK wire. Simply unfold your paper clip and insert each end into the ATX connectors cavities where the green and black wires are.





Voila! Simply flip the main power switch on the back of your PSU and you should have power. If you don't try wiggling the paper clip around to make sure you have a good contact in the terminals.

Note: You can NOT shock yourself doing this. Some power supplies only like to be jumped after the main power switch is flipped on, this means connect your wire or paper clip while there is voltage to the psu.

Another simple but pimptasticly useful guide

__________________
AMD FX-8370 @ 4.7Ghz | Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 | 32Gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | XFX Radeon R9 390X
Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb SSD / OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb SSD / 2Tb WD Black / 3 x 2Tb WD Green
PCP&C Silencer 750w | Fractal Design R3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-03-05, 12:33 PM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Well done FragTek, reps coming your way and a sticky
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-03-05, 12:34 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,959
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Well done FragTek, reps coming your way and a sticky
Thx bud.
__________________
AMD FX-8370 @ 4.7Ghz | Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 | 32Gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | XFX Radeon R9 390X
Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb SSD / OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb SSD / 2Tb WD Black / 3 x 2Tb WD Green
PCP&C Silencer 750w | Fractal Design R3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-03-05, 12:43 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Damnit...you beat me to it!! I was gonna do this as soon as my new PSU came (today) lol.

Great guide mate reps coming your way
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-03-05, 12:44 PM
Toxic_Flo Toxic_Flo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
I never knew you could jump start a psu.. See thats why i love this Forum.... you learn a lot from other people.
__________________


Toxic_Flo


"Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-03-05, 12:45 PM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
i could have done with this the other day!!! xms had to tell me. cheers mate reps
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-03-05, 12:46 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,959
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
Damnit...you beat me to it!! I was gonna do this as soon as my new PSU came (today) lol.

Great guide mate reps coming your way
:bornleet:

Thx toxic.
__________________
AMD FX-8370 @ 4.7Ghz | Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 | 32Gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | XFX Radeon R9 390X
Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb SSD / OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb SSD / 2Tb WD Black / 3 x 2Tb WD Green
PCP&C Silencer 750w | Fractal Design R3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-03-05, 12:49 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,959
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dave'
i could have done with this the other day!!! xms had to tell me. cheers mate reps
Thx dave... Any idea why my sig aint showing up any more?

Edit: NM, forgot that my dns server has me ed up on that addy.... i'll put it on mah other server
__________________
AMD FX-8370 @ 4.7Ghz | Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 | 32Gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | XFX Radeon R9 390X
Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb SSD / OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb SSD / 2Tb WD Black / 3 x 2Tb WD Green
PCP&C Silencer 750w | Fractal Design R3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-04-05, 02:10 AM
bloodthirst bloodthirst is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,391
ive done that before like now im running 2 PSU's but i made something similar to tyhat using male pins and a strip of wire but i connected it the green wire and the black wire directly next to it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-04-05, 07:29 PM
harrej harrej is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 80
do you need to leave the paper clip in there then so it wont go off??

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.