Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 04-02-18, 11:48 AM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
There was another one, or maybe two that would not run. I can't remember what they are now. But yeah, for the most part it's pretty silly making a game that wants more than that. It was only at 1080p too !
For just 1080p that's pretty abysmal. Makes you wonder what the engine is even doing with all that RAM. Or it's just being pointlessly allocated and not even used, which wouldn't surprise me to be honest with how poor optimisation has been lately

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-02-18, 12:06 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,863
It was unplayable too. Even with 16gb RAM. I gave up trying to play it (just stutter heaven even on a Fury X). A good year or so later I tried it on my Maxwell Titan X and it was OK. Not the greatest game ever, but the graphics were quite pretty and some of the cars sound lovely going through a tunnel !

It's kinda like Fallout 4. They have literally made it better post launch. I remember playing it at 4k on launch on a single Fury X and noticing that the far off backgrounds were covered in this nasty fuzz I hadn't seen in a game in years. I played it through once (dropping to 1440p) and the graphics were just nut sacks. Properly ball bags.

Any way, fast forward to about a month ago and I start my second playthrough as a woman (so I can access all of the girly things like Black Widow perk etc) and the HD pack combined with the HD weapons (Nvidia only IIRC) and etc make the game look absolutely stunning in the situations where you want it to (IE like in FO3 you are walking through some burnt out stick trees and this lovely sunny glow comes through).

And the BG no longer looks like fuzzy ass either, win !
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-02-18, 12:18 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
There was another one, or maybe two that would not run. I can't remember what they are now. But yeah, for the most part it's pretty silly making a game that wants more than that. It was only at 1080p too !
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
It was unplayable too. Even with 16gb RAM. I gave up trying to play it (just stutter heaven even on a Fury X). A good year or so later I tried it on my Maxwell Titan X and it was OK. Not the greatest game ever, but the graphics were quite pretty and some of the cars sound lovely going through a tunnel !

It's kinda like Fallout 4. They have literally made it better post launch. I remember playing it at 4k on launch on a single Fury X and noticing that the far off backgrounds were covered in this nasty fuzz I hadn't seen in a game in years. I played it through once (dropping to 1440p) and the graphics were just nut sacks. Properly ball bags.

Any way, fast forward to about a month ago and I start my second playthrough as a woman (so I can access all of the girly things like Black Widow perk etc) and the HD pack combined with the HD weapons (Nvidia only IIRC) and etc make the game look absolutely stunning in the situations where you want it to (IE like in FO3 you are walking through some burnt out stick trees and this lovely sunny glow comes through).

And the BG no longer looks like fuzzy ass either, win !
It's interesting to see issues like that in a real world scenario. Good on Bethseda for actually addressing issues though. Far too many manufacturers just give up on their PC releases and focus on the consoles.

Any gaming I do on this system will be in 4k too, so I think I will try picking up a second 16GB kit once budget allows. That LPX at 3200MHZ definitely seems to be one of the best deals about right now. Plus with it being a lower profile, it should make my tubing run from the monoblock to front rad a bit easier
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.