Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 05-09-19, 07:28 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Governour View Post
How was the upgrade? I have a 2700x now and debating weather to go for a 3900x or a possiblr 3950x. Do you notice the upgrade a lot from the 2700x?

For rendering type workloads it was a really big upgrade over the 2700X, Games too, Although the 9900K does win out at 1080P, Which I play at, Especially when clocked to 5GHz.

__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-09-19, 07:39 AM
The_Governour's Avatar
The_Governour The_Governour is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
For rendering type workloads it was a really big upgrade over the 2700X, Games too, Although the 9900K does win out at 1080P, Which I play at, Especially when clocked to 5GHz.
I changed from a 8700k to a 2700x when my 8700k died, did notice a difference for streaming and rendering.

I play at 3440 x 1440p though so combined with my 2080ti then it would be a performance bump?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-19, 07:48 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Governour View Post
I changed from a 8700k to a 2700x when my 8700k died, did notice a difference for streaming and rendering.

I play at 3440 x 1440p though so combined with my 2080ti then it would be a performance bump?

Anything over 1080P is mainly GPU bound so I doubt you'd notice any type of difference but for rendering and streaming it would be quite a large performance bump over your 2700X.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-19, 08:35 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I had a 2700X, Upgraded to a 3900X but my mobo went POP and took the 3900X with it, I got the 9900K as a replacement as I'm waiting for the RMA on the mobo and CPU to finish, then I may do a dual AMD/Intel rig, AMD for rendering/folding and Intel for gaming
Ive never know anyone who has as many RMA issues as you. Are you buying your hardware from Dodgy Dave down the alley on the corner of BrokenHardware Avenue?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-19, 09:28 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Ive never know anyone who has as many RMA issues as you. Are you buying your hardware from Dodgy Dave down the alley on the corner of BrokenHardware Avenue?


All bought from OCUK, I think the issue with my hardware failures was mainly to do with the last place I lived in which was VERY damp and I only moved to my new place very recently, Only a few weeks before I moved I had to have a dehumidifier on from the time I left for work at 8am until I got back sometimes around 5PM and it would be full to bursting with water, I'm quite sure being in such a damp environment 24/7 had a lot to do with my many hardware failures.

The only thing that's really failed recently was a VRM component on the Crosshair VII Hero but I did buy it when I was still in my last place.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-19, 12:56 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,321
Dice, if you don't have a good UPS, get one. Those things will save your ass, not to mention your gear.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 3900X / GB Aorus Master / 16GB TridentZ 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Corsair Force MP600 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 240 rad / Heatkiller reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-09-19, 01:05 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Dice, if you don't have a good UPS, get one. Those things will save your ass, not to mention your gear.

Do you have any recommendations ?
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-09-19, 01:12 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Do you have any recommendations ?
Not particularly, aside from going with an established brand like APC. But I've also used Cyberpower units too. Even a cheap one is better than nothing, especially if you live in a place with flaky power. In my old country house, I used to fry mechanical hard drives with alarming regularity, every 4-6 months. Once I bought a UPS, I didn't have a failure after that. They make a HUGE difference in places where power isn't "smooth".
__________________
Guts: Ryzen 3900X / GB Aorus Master / 16GB TridentZ 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Corsair Force MP600 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 HDD array / 4TB RAID0 SSD array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 240 rad / Heatkiller reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-09-19, 04:00 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Anything over 1080P is mainly GPU bound so I doubt you'd notice any type of difference but for rendering and streaming it would be quite a large performance bump over your 2700X.
This is pretty misleading IMO, usually the worst frametimes are entirely CPU limited, even up to 4K. Sure, at 1080p you'll see a larger boost in average FPS but that's irrelevant - the choppiest parts matter most, and those are what you want to eliminate with a beefy CPU.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-09-19, 04:53 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
This is pretty misleading IMO, usually the worst frametimes are entirely CPU limited, even up to 4K. Sure, at 1080p you'll see a larger boost in average FPS but that's irrelevant - the choppiest parts matter most, and those are what you want to eliminate with a beefy CPU.
I think that applies well for a lot of multiplayer games like CSGO, Arma, Destiny, BF, WoW and so on, but not so much for most single player titles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.