Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-05-19, 06:51 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 18,212
RAGE 2 PC Performance Review

Was the influence of ID Software able to fix the APEX Engine?



Read more about RAGE 2's PC Performance.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-05-19, 05:33 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 14,166
The 4K numbers are surprising for the Vega 56 and 2080 Ti especially considering with prices right now the 2080 Ti is exactly 4 x times the price of a Vega 56 yet doesn't REALLY give worlds better performance at 1440P and 4K.
__________________
=AMD Ryzen 9 - 3950X + PBO - XFX 5700XT Thicc III Ultra @ 2100/1800=

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-05-19, 12:41 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,588
I'm surprised this doesn't support SLI, but it runs nice enough that I'm not complaining.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-05-19, 01:35 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
I'm surprised this doesn't support SLI, but it runs nice enough that I'm not complaining.
I'm not. Wolfenstein didn't either.

The original RAGE did, heck it even supported quad SLi but IIRC that was pure Carmack.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-05-19, 01:46 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,972
If this is Vulkan only then that would explain why it doesn't support SLI. They'd need a custom mGPU solution and afaik there are no existing libraries out their for a dev to easily replicate AFR on Vulkan atm.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-05-19, 02:09 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,670
Runs like a dream on my 4790K and 1080Ti I'm seeing 120fps on average with Ultra settings, only thing I have to complain about are the audio glitches in cut scenes where sometimes there is no audio at all and the lack of co-op play.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-05-19, 02:28 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
If this is Vulkan only then that would explain why it doesn't support SLI. They'd need a custom mGPU solution and afaik there are no existing libraries out their for a dev to easily replicate AFR on Vulkan atm.
Ahhh, my ignorant fool self assumed that Vulkan was auto-magically multi-GPU friendly. I learned something today!
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.