Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-06-18, 11:42 PM
Xrqute's Avatar
Xrqute Xrqute is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 645
BRICKED!!! 3 drives in an instant!

hey guys,

so for about the last 24hrs I've been seething with rage, and yeah im gunna tell you why.

so i had a 2tb and a 4tb drive for storage and well they were both at very near max capacity.

So i went and i picked up another seagate 4tb drive. I got home pulled me ssd out of the hdd cage and moved to behind the mobo tray then put the new drive in the now open slot. connected it up using the cables that the ssd had used..closed her up and then booted.

I was expecting everything to be apples but alas it was not.

once i got into windows i realized i could no longer see my existing 2tb and 4tb drives. my 2x ssd's applles.

long story short

my new drive..... dead, no spool
other 4tb..... dead, no spool
2tb..... dead, no spool

I've tried everything i can think of to get them spinning again. I've put them in completely different machines to see if theyll start up, i even tried a usb sata dock.

but yeah they are dead. I've lost close to 6tb of data.

obviously they'll have to replace the brand new drive, but i also feel that they should do data recovery on the drives for free as well. i really don't wanna pay the $700ish they charge per drive.

has anyone had dealings with them over a similar issue?

__________________




Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-06-18, 08:11 PM
CalVic's Avatar
CalVic CalVic is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 279
Send a message via Skype™ to CalVic
I'd be more fuming as to what the hell happened for it to do that! Can't stress the importance of backups! Have a look at an unRAID solution for future purposes, if a drive or two were to fail you should be able to recover the array.


In terms of data recovery, I'm afraid it can be rather expensive. If the logic boards are fried then you're either looking for an exact matching logic board to replace, or a platter removal job. The removal job is expensive as a specially designed clean room is usually required.
__________________
| 4790K 4.6Ghz @ 1.15v / Uncore @ 4.6Ghz | Avexir 16GB 2133Mhz CL9 | Asus Maximums VII Formula |
| Gigabyte G1 980 GTX | NZXT S340 | Corsair H110i GTX |



EAT-SLEEP-OVERCLOCK
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-06-18, 04:52 AM
Xrqute's Avatar
Xrqute Xrqute is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalVic View Post
I'd be more fuming as to what the hell happened for it to do that! Can't stress the importance of backups! Have a look at an unRAID solution for future purposes, if a drive or two were to fail you should be able to recover the array.


In terms of data recovery, I'm afraid it can be rather expensive. If the logic boards are fried then you're either looking for an exact matching logic board to replace, or a platter removal job. The removal job is expensive as a specially designed clean room is usually required.
All 3 were on the same SATA power cable. So it surely caused some sort of surge or spike when it powered on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-06-18, 11:44 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,164
If it has fried the controller boards you can simply buy an identical drive (size and model) and change it out without taking the drive apart.. Usually...

Sounds to me like you got a spike. If you are lucky the motors may be fine still.

BITD we used to have Bigfoot hard drives. And they were notorious for dead boards. So we would just take a working board and slap it on, hey presto drive was back.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-06-18, 02:41 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
If it has fried the controller boards you can simply buy an identical drive (size and model) and change it out without taking the drive apart.. Usually....

that was so years ago. it is not the case anymore.
today the firmware had to be exactly the same and even than it is not 100% sure it would work.


back in the 90s i have done that a few times.
but todays drives store a LOT of information on the board controller.
for example head calibration (position information).

you would need to get this information on the new controlboard.







Quote:
obviously they'll have to replace the brand new drive, but i also feel that they should do data recovery on the drives for free as well. i really don't wanna pay the $700ish they charge per drive.
good luck with that.


seagate will replace the drive (when you are lucky with a new one and not a factory repaired one).
i send in two drives the past years and they send me a factory repaired replacement each time.
only after i complained i got a new one.


but data revovery.... nah.


they will simply say you did something wrong and you can´t prove you did not.


backups are your friend.


i have all my stuff on at least 3 backup hardrives and RAR packed and AES encrypted in the cloud.
2 backup drives are in different NAS for daily backups.
one is an offline backup i only connect when needed (once a week).

plus additional backups on m-disc blu-rays. i do that once a month.
that stuff is read only so in case data gets corrupted over time on the harddisk and copied over to the backup drives, i still have a working copy on optical discs.

in case a flood or fire destroys my home and the internet goes down i have one copy of important stuff at my sisters house.
i backup that every few month when i visit her.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.