Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-03-19, 01:30 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,035
Nvidia promises 40% Performance Boost in Anthem through DLSS

But does it look better or worse?



Read more about Nvidia promising up to a 40% performance boost in Anthem though DLSS.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-03-19, 01:41 PM
jt4g jt4g is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Thumbs down

What!!! I can't use DLSS on my 2080ti / 1440p monitor setup.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-03-19, 03:35 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by jt4g View Post
What!!! I can't use DLSS on my 2080ti / 1440p monitor setup.....
It's because DLSS takes a set amount of time to perform, and 2080 Ti pushes frames faster than DLSS upscale them at 1440p.


But that also means that you don't need DLSS' performance boost.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-03-19, 03:55 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
It's because DLSS takes a set amount of time to perform, and 2080 Ti pushes frames faster than DLSS upscale them at 1440p.


But that also means that you don't need DLSS' performance boost.
^ pretty much this.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-03-19, 04:22 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
It's because DLSS takes a set amount of time to perform, and 2080 Ti pushes frames faster than DLSS upscale them at 1440p.


But that also means that you don't need DLSS' performance boost.
And its this understanding that makes me wonder how many went for a 20xx card after being swayed by the DLSS feature even though they have a 1440p screen. Does Nvidia state that DLSS is only applicable to 4k resolutions?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-03-19, 04:43 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
And its this understanding that makes me wonder how many went for a 20xx card after being swayed by the DLSS feature even though they have a 1440p screen. Does Nvidia state that DLSS is only applicable to 4k resolutions?
It does work for lower resolutions if the GPU itself is slow enough.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-03-19, 04:46 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
It does work for lower resolutions if the GPU itself is slow enough.
Yeah and with the amount of poorly optimized games these days that's not uncommon. though it begs the question if they implemented and optimized DLSS well otherwise it won't do jack for you.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-03-19, 01:44 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,458
I guess you could force the output to 4K and then let it downsample naturally? Must be settings in NVidia control panel to force that(Or I guess in most modern games if you just add the resolution option for your monitor)? Though not sure how worthwhile that would be image quality or performance wise.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-03-19, 01:45 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
I guess you could force the output to 4K and then let it downsample naturally? Must be settings in NVidia control panel to force that? Though not sure how worthwhile that would be image quality or performance wise.
Dont think so in the gui. But for those experienced with Nvinspector, im sure there are parameters there to configure this.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-03-19, 06:41 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,987
Getting a bit fed up with Ray Tracing and DLSS as they offer very little compared to the extra cost involved with the cards.

Ray Tracing does not offer a game changing experience and is often hardly noticed.

DLSS offers higher fps but the same can be achieved more or less by turning other settings down.

In light of the above would I still have bought my RTX cards, of course I would as they are about 30% faster than Pascal.

Having said that in life there are priorities far more important than gaming and those are what most people would rather spend their money on.


Turing architecture -
Fast cards.
Gimmicky features like RTX and DLSS.
Very overpriced and terrible value.

NVidia please don't release another crap architecture like Turing again.

Even if NVidia had released a cut down Volta architecture for gaming it would have been both faster and cheaper than Turing, what a joke.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.