Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Asus UK Customer Care Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-05-18, 01:08 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,595
Asus Zenith Extreme help

Hey peeps,
I just recently built a new rig, the specs are as following:

Asus X399 Zenith Extreme
AMD Threadripper 1900X
32GB Gskill Trident Z RGB
Western Digital 500GB & 512GB NVME M.2 SSDs
Corsair AX1500i
LG 32" 4K HDR Monitor
Ducky Shine 3 YOTS Edition
Corsair M65

I was really please that all was pretty ok on first boot. However i have two issues only.

The first is that i noticed that every time i turn the pc on, it powers up, turns off and turns back on again. I read that this is known as a cold boot, although i have never experienced this with my previous rigs. Is this something that is normal with the Zenith Extreme boards?

The second issue is that when my rig turns on and loads into windows, it looses connection to my BT Smart Hub and causes it to restart. At first i thoght it might be a faulty Ethernet cable so i changed it, hub still restarted. So then i installed latest driveres for ASUS website, the hub still restarts.
This is the worst one as it causes internet connection loss throughout the house.

I really appriciate all help guys, been a while since i last built a rig and also this is my first ever AMD one too

__________________
| Asus X399 Zenith Extreme | AMD Threadripper 1900X | 32GB Gskill Trident Z RGB | Nvidia Titan Xp | Western Digital 500GB & 512GB NVME M.2 SSDs | Corsair AX1500i | LG 32" 4K HDR Monitor | Ducky Shine 3 YOTS Edition | Corsair M65|
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-05-18, 01:36 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,713
What settings have you changed in the BIOS - when it starts is everythinng running as it should? Look at CPUz etc to confirm.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-05-18, 07:56 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
What settings have you changed in the BIOS - when it starts is everythinng running as it should? Look at CPUz etc to confirm.
In the bios, so far i have only changed the memory frequency to DDR4-3200Mhz

These are my CPUz screenshots. When the rig starts, all is running ok afterwards.



__________________
| Asus X399 Zenith Extreme | AMD Threadripper 1900X | 32GB Gskill Trident Z RGB | Nvidia Titan Xp | Western Digital 500GB & 512GB NVME M.2 SSDs | Corsair AX1500i | LG 32" 4K HDR Monitor | Ducky Shine 3 YOTS Edition | Corsair M65|
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-05-18, 10:13 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,069
That cold boot thing would concern me. I've heard that if the CPU is not bedded correctly that can happen. I would take a look at that.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-05-18, 10:51 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 431
In my experience with asus boards, they've all done that weird cold boot thing when starting up after the power has been switched off at the supply. If I shut the pc down but left the socket on so the psu is left powered all the time, it never did it. I'd switch it off if I went on holiday and on first boot after coming home it would do it again.

My old P9X79 board did it. I'm sure someone said it was related to memory training.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ HP LP2475w + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-05-18, 05:49 AM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,595
Tbh the cold boot thing I can deal with. I did do a little playing and found out that if I set the memory frequency to anything higher than 2133MHz, it will do the cold boot thing. If I set at 2133MHz, rig starts up straight away.

With regards to the router restarts, I can't figure this one out. As soon as I open any web browser, then router restarts itself.

I'm still going to have a play around with it, hopefully I can sort these things out.
__________________
| Asus X399 Zenith Extreme | AMD Threadripper 1900X | 32GB Gskill Trident Z RGB | Nvidia Titan Xp | Western Digital 500GB & 512GB NVME M.2 SSDs | Corsair AX1500i | LG 32" 4K HDR Monitor | Ducky Shine 3 YOTS Edition | Corsair M65|
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-05-18, 07:52 AM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 662
I had the same problem with my old rig.
Had a 4670k, and 2400MHz DDR3 worked for years. Changes CPU to 4790k = Boot loop
It as yours, only sometimes tit did it 3 times before turning fully on. Then one day i completed to boot loop. Changed to XMP profile 2 = 2133MHz problem stopped.

I'm no expert on ram, but maybe a bit more volts could help. I didn't try on my rig. Men maybe Tom can judge if its safe to try.
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-06-18, 08:25 PM
dipzy's Avatar
dipzy dipzy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,595
Ok guys, i have another issue and this one is the biggest of em all. My rig is now totally unusable. No display, no power on Keyboard and mouse.

On the Zenith LCD screen it says: B2 - Load VGA Bios.
I'm using a Nvidia Titan Xp

This morning when i used my computer, all was fine, i saw experienced no issues. All was ok since the day i built it.

I have tried to reset the bios, try the GPU in a different PCIE slot, swapped out both PCIE power cables but still nothing.

I've read that some have solved by replacing faulty PCIE cable, updating the BIOS and also replacing the CPU.
__________________
| Asus X399 Zenith Extreme | AMD Threadripper 1900X | 32GB Gskill Trident Z RGB | Nvidia Titan Xp | Western Digital 500GB & 512GB NVME M.2 SSDs | Corsair AX1500i | LG 32" 4K HDR Monitor | Ducky Shine 3 YOTS Edition | Corsair M65|
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-06-18, 08:54 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 431
Have you tested the GPU in a different system to prove it's still working?
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ HP LP2475w + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-06-18, 09:01 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,381
Are you able to boot the system using a different GPU? Or does the GPU work in another system?
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.