Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-09-08, 12:34 PM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Spore Lawsuit

A class-action lawsuit has been filed against EA over SecuROM DRM present on the Spore disk.

Details in the news article

Thanks to WC Annihilus

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-09-08, 12:37 PM
Nick R Nick R is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 281
Only in America.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-09-08, 12:58 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,679
Serves em right. I hope the case is successful and stops game publishers piling this crap on us in the first place

Go back to the days where games were affordable (well they arent too bad now tbh), nothing but the software and a serial (only valid serials work online or require validation) and no extra crap like install limits etc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-09-08, 01:51 PM
Hassan Hassan is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 783
Hope EA lose. Serves them right
__________________
A mod changed my signature because it was too big. Tutt-tutt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-09-08, 01:58 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
cant say i'd be sad to see EA loose tbh
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-09-08, 02:27 PM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
rofl
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-09-08, 02:47 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
I do wish software would install and be limited to putting ALL stuff associated with it within 1 folder that u designate.

It can be done, and I don`t care (in this instance) if they install secu-flop software without me know - aslong as, when I delete the folder (if I happened to need to) ALL of the stuff that came with the install goes !

Best of luck with the case, hope they have enough cash to back it up. EA-crosoft will draw it out I`m sure.

IF they needed funds, i can guarantee u users would donate to them in support.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-09-08, 04:59 PM
k4p84 k4p84 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
Curiosity killed the cat but how does the game actually know that it has been installed 'X' number of times?

Is it this spyware they are installing keeping tabs or is it done during validation of the install?

Would it not be possible to stop it sending info out? or would it do a Windows and just stop working if you don't validate it?

ED

PS hope EA lose
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-09-08, 05:01 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
probably a registry key..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-09-08, 09:20 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
I think it's good someone has finally taken this issue forward with the threat of legal action, altho it's probably too little too late tbh.

As said in the article, so many other games already have SecuROM and there has been a lot of issues.

I think the worse game I saw with SecuROM (in terms with effecting performance) was NWN2.

I have Mass Effect but don't need the DVD to be inserted to play it?
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 16G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Ryzen 7 Soon?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.