Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #4111  
Old 31-01-20, 06:05 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
AMD's new 20.1.3 WQHL driver is now available this link is for the 5700XT https://www.amd.com/en/support/graph...eon-rx-5700-xt

Will give these a test

__________________
=Origin-Steam-Uplay-XBLive - Dicehunter=

Reply With Quote
  #4112  
Old 04-02-20, 07:29 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Train Simulator 2020 for $1 with more DLC options https://www.humblebundle.com/games/train-simulator
Reply With Quote
  #4113  
Old 04-02-20, 07:51 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
Train Simulator 2020 for $1 with more DLC options https://www.humblebundle.com/games/train-simulator
Looks like they looked at my library and put the bulk of what I already have
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN7 3700x, H100i GTX
MB: Gigabyte x570
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #4114  
Old 13-02-20, 04:38 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,816
https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonk.../#4dbebcd62316

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/dua.../get-dev-tools


MS confirms for later this year we are getting massive Windows 10 update, called Windows 10X, that overhauls and restructures the OS(ie, compartmentalize areas of the OS) for easier and fewer buggy updates in the future.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #4115  
Old 14-02-20, 10:31 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,816
3990x... But can it run Crysis? Quite literally.. yes
https://www.techradar.com/amp/news/a...-graphics-card
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #4116  
Old 14-02-20, 11:55 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,664
Yup saw that, astounding.

Really took me back to the days without 3d acceleration where software mode was an option lol.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4117  
Old 26-02-20, 10:02 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,816
https://www.anandtech.com/show/15549...d-motherboards

Sapphire releases embedded Ryzen motherboards.

Pretty cool. Using first gen Zen and Vega. Not sure as to the specific clockspeeds or core counts but not bad. Unfortunately seems to be only available for companies. Which sucks as I would have liked that tiny 4x4 form factor to build a dedicated VPN/Firewall for my home network. Would have been way more than enough power and handle the amount of traffic coming in and out.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #4118  
Old 27-02-20, 03:21 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,816
Absolutely awesome article from Cloudfare DNS provider on the switch from Intel to AMD in servers. Which is a big deal as Cloudfare is massive. AMD basically hands Intel a smackdown in all but like 3 tests out of probably 40-50. With one 1 of those being an outlier (could be software related. It was in testing after all).

https://blog.cloudflare.com/an-epyc-...erver-cpu/amp/
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #4119  
Old 27-02-20, 07:30 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Absolutely awesome article from Cloudfare DNS provider on the switch from Intel to AMD in servers. Which is a big deal as Cloudfare is massive. AMD basically hands Intel a smackdown in all but like 3 tests out of probably 40-50. With one 1 of those being an outlier (could be software related. It was in testing after all).

https://blog.cloudflare.com/an-epyc-...erver-cpu/amp/
Yeah, because even if AMD had a slight upper hand, swapping CPUs in this industry is a huge risk. Once you have Intel and it becomes stable its safer to stick with them "usually" to avoid complications.

But AMD has hammered Intel so hard in this market now, that it has become worth the risk to swap over. Brave move and Kudos to Cloudfare for making that leap.
Reply With Quote
  #4120  
Old 27-02-20, 03:26 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Yeah, because even if AMD had a slight upper hand, swapping CPUs in this industry is a huge risk. Once you have Intel and it becomes stable its safer to stick with them "usually" to avoid complications.

But AMD has hammered Intel so hard in this market now, that it has become worth the risk to swap over. Brave move and Kudos to Cloudfare for making that leap.
Well Cloudfare did their due diligence and in their testing AMD dominated. Makes perfect sense. More performance, less power, stable, less space. Cloudfare has several backups anyway. It's not like AMD is solely the infastructre now. But their new systems will be which is a good thing
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.