Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-06-13, 03:30 PM
sushisky sushisky is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 36
Will the RX360 radiator with fans fit in the top of the HAF X? I read on other forums that there were clearance issues with the motherboard tho. hoping for some feedback from some of you guys who have put a RX360 in the HAF X.

update/
I was googling around about the haf x, seeing if it could fit a RX360. I saw that it could, and almost bought the case, before realising that I wasn't sure if the mounts in the top (200mm fans) could fit 3 120mm fans.

I saw on another thread that people had trouble routing the cables for the IO after trying to fit a 200mm fan. So I'm just putting this out there, to see if anyone has tried to fit 3 120mm fans into the top panel of the HAF X.

Thanks in advance

P.S. feel free to tell me if there are any other suitable cases in the same price point. I've been having trouble finding a case

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-06-13, 11:29 AM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
2x200mm fans = 400mm space total
3x120mm fans = 360mm space total

You should have enough space, the only thing that I'm not sure on is if the mounting options are actually there. You could always drill the holes yourself though.

The NZXT Switch 810/ Phantom 820/630/530 can all fit a 360mm rad in the top without modding and then an additional 240mm in the front/bottom. I'd personally go for one of those.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-06-13, 02:19 PM
sushisky sushisky is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 36
I don't really like the switch 810 tho. plasticky
any tips as to where to get a 800d on the cheap?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-06-13, 02:24 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
800D isn't such an amazing case tbh. I'd rather spend my money on a plasticky NZXT case that offers much more and better features. If you do insist on getting the 800D, you could try and see if you can find a good looking used one...
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-06-13, 02:29 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,948
What about the new Corsair 540?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-06-13, 02:45 PM
njallday's Avatar
njallday njallday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 226
The Switch 810 is plasticky and the HAF X isn't?

I'd say any of the NZXT cases said above, maybe do a simple mod on the Storm Trooper/Stryker, or maybe the new Corsair 540.
__________________
i5 3570k 4.5 GHz MSI Z77A-G45 Corsair Vengeance 8gb EVGA GTX 670 AX 650 Samsung 830 256gb NZXT Switch 810 Custom Watercooled

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-06-13, 02:52 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by njallday View Post
The Switch 810 is plasticky and the HAF X isn't?

I'd say any of the NZXT cases said above, maybe do a simple mod on the Storm Trooper/Stryker, or maybe the new Corsair 540.
The HAF X does have far higher quality plastic than the Switch though - not that I like the styling of the HAF X (don't particularly like the Switch either, but it's good fitting rads).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-06-13, 04:00 PM
sushisky sushisky is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 36
i've heard of stories about switch 810s getting broken in transit though .-.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-06-13, 04:02 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,948
Mine was one of them actually.
If you're not up for modding the Trooper/Stryker, and don't want the Corsair 540..

And....
Don't want the new Phantoms....

The Switch is the only way to go really.

I wouldn't be buying a HAF X now - they're too outdated really.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-06-13, 04:49 PM
Noz_God's Avatar
Noz_God Noz_God is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cumbria, The Lakes
Posts: 184
HAF-X will fit 360 in top with no modding. I have one with 360 in the roof in push/pull but i had to mod the roof because i have water cooled the mobo and have a 60mm thick rad. If u like the style of the HAF-X (some do some don't) then i would get one really well made and i have had no problems with cable management. Tom did a vid with a HAF-X with 360 in the top check out the channel.

Simon
__________________
My Rig|| Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z || CPU: i7 2700k @ 4.6, 1.35v || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 1070 SC ||
Memory: 16GB - G Skills Ripjaws Z @ 1866 || SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (OS) || HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB (Games) || Sound Card: Asus Xonar D2X || CPU + Mobo Cooling: Custom water cooling || Power Supply: Corsair TX950w ||
Case: Coolermaster HAF X

OC3D Overclockers Club Member #018
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.