Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-01-19, 11:45 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Odd ram behaviour

So I've been running my Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro at it's rated speed of 3200MHz happily for a number of weeks in my 2700X system, Turn on the rig today and for some reason after 20 minutes of answering emails my system freezes, I turn the power off, Boot it back up, Go into the bios, Redo the settings and for some reason it will not go past the boot screen now.

So I tried lowering the speed down to 3000MHz, That worked for 5 minutes and then it happened again.

Now I've flashed back to a much earlier bios, Lowered the speed to 3000MHz from its rated 3200MHz and it's been stable for hours, It's really odd that it would be stable on a specific bios for weeks and then all of a sudden become unstable.

I haven't a clue what's going on, Any insight would be appreciated.

EDIT

Flashed back to the bios I was using earlier and 3000MHz is completely stable but the rated 3200MHz I was running for weeks refuses to stick, Very weird.

__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-01-19, 01:01 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,373
looser timings?
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-01-19, 09:02 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
Interesting Dice I can't get my 1700x to run 32gig of 3200 ram either it was blue screening but it's running quite happily with 16 3200 I wonder if it's Windows 1809
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-01-19, 01:33 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,502
Nah, hardware problems aren't down to your OS, especially when it's about ram which has no drivers.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-01-19, 07:42 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
Nah, hardware problems aren't down to your OS, especially when it's about ram which has no drivers.
Thats incorrect. A recent update from windows prevented many users stable CPU overclocks. Removing the update returned stability to many people.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-01-19, 08:28 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
Interesting Dice I can't get my 1700x to run 32gig of 3200 ram either it was blue screening but it's running quite happily with 16 3200 I wonder if it's Windows 1809
I installed the 3200MHz memory just after 1809 landed and it sat happily at 3200 for a good few weeks and all of a sudden it simply doesn't work at anything over 3000MHz, It's not that it won't boot into Windows, It won't even make it to the bios screen.

Maybe running it at 3200MHz was just a fluke
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-01-19, 08:30 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
It's not that it won't boot into Windows, It won't even make it to the bios screen.
What do you do then at that point?...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-01-19, 08:31 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
What do you do then at that point?...

Hold the power button down, Power off and it then reboots with default settings.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-01-19, 08:49 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,944
Have you manually set the SOC voltage?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-01-19, 09:25 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Have you manually set the SOC voltage?

Nope, Didn't know I should've to be honest, Worth fiddling around with ?
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.