Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-12-17, 05:19 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,368
Question Ryzen and RAM questions :)

Can one of you nice chaps with Ryzen please tell me about RAM speeds
I am seeing conflicting data on the tinterweb of things, and have got myself rather confused.
I am about to upgrade to a Ryzen 1600 (My missus Christmas present for me) and would like to get as much as I can for the limited budget.
I know that Ryzen now supports upto 3200 speeds OC but is that slower ram pushed faster meaning cheaper options or is it the ddr3200 ram used in xmp mode?

Basically I am asking can I get something like 2800, 3000 or even 2666 and push them upto 3200? and if so which RAM sticks would you suggest (2x8gb)

__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-12-17, 09:48 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
I bought G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) F4-3200C14D-16GTZ. They have worked great at launch.

As far as buying cheaper ram and overclocking it, that is a crap shoot. I know I can't raise my ram speeds or I get errors pretty quickly. That does not mean it can't be done, but its going to take a lot of time and testing. Plus I want something that just works.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-12-17, 01:14 AM
MacLeod's Avatar
MacLeod MacLeod is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 1,104
I went with these Corsair 3200 MHz sticks and they're working just fine. I agree that it's better to just buy RAM that is sold to operate at a certain speed. Just like with CPU's, overclocking RAM isn't guaranteed. These Corsair sticks are as fast as you could overclock anything anyways and they are about $20-30 more expensive than a 3000 or slower set, it's worth it to me. First time I fired up my rig, I went to the BIOS, set the speed to 3200 in just a couple clicks and haven't thought about it sense. Ryzen really benefits from faster RAM so again, it's worth it to get the faster speeds and 3200 seems to be the sweet spot in terms of pretty much all major motherboards will run fine on it and it's fast enough to really show some performance benefits.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________

AMD R5 1600X @ 4.0 GHz ••• Asus ROG Strix X370-F ••• Corsair H110i
Corsair 500R ••• EVGA Supernova G3 750 ••• Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB x2 ••• Nvidia RTX 2070 FE
Samsung 840 Evo 250GB ••• Acer Predator XB272 @ 240 Hz
Logitech G-Pro TKL ••• Logitech G MX518
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-12-17, 01:47 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
I too just went with 3200 ram and as Tom has said in many of his videos it's the sweet spot and I must say mine has worked flawlessly
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-12-17, 02:27 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Just make sure you check out the QVL list for you mobo before you buy.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-12-17, 02:10 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,368
I went with 3000 corsair sticks solely because that kit was the only way to keep my bill to 500£, would have gone with ocuk but they were not able to bring the price down close enough for me to order.
Ordered yesterday arrived today
Now if I can only persuade the missus to not wrap them up lol
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-01-18, 03:55 AM
GAMINGKING3 GAMINGKING3 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: CONNECTICUT USA
Posts: 1
i went with 4 Gskillz flare x runs so smooth
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-01-18, 09:40 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,853
3000 is the sweet spot. You do gain a little extra going from 3000-3200 but only a little. The main difference is going from 2133-3000. Once you get to 3400 it makes pretty much no difference over 3200. However 3000 is more than enough to extract a good chunk of performance

I wouldn't have bought Corsair, though. Gskill is the most compatible.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-01-18, 10:20 AM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
3000 is the sweet spot. You do gain a little extra going from 3000-3200 but only a little. The main difference is going from 2133-3000. Once you get to 3400 it makes pretty much no difference over 3200. However 3000 is more than enough to extract a good chunk of performance

I wouldn't have bought Corsair, though. Gskill is the most compatible.
So what is it? 3200 or 3000 is the sweet spot?... Everyone says differently? I have 3000 kit in my PC and been thinking of getting a 3200 just because everyone has gone that and says it’s the sweet spot.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-01-18, 10:24 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
So what is it? 3200 or 3000 is the sweet spot?... Everyone says differently? I have 3000 kit in my PC and been thinking of getting a 3200 just because everyone has gone that and says it’s the sweet spot.
3000 is more than good enough. You won't notice the extra 200. And no, don't buy 3200. If the price was 1/10th? yeah. But RAM prices are ridiculous ATM.

You're fine. Maybe see a Doc about the OCD but yeah, fine
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.