Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-07-17, 03:11 PM
AntonS AntonS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Question Turbo boost on Intel/AMD

Greetings!

I am curious about turbo boost on both platform.
  1. First of all it seems that Intel has some kind of table with number of cores loaded/boost frequency and AMD does not. As for my Ryzen 1700X test rig i was not able to detect any boost even if load was in a single core only. Does AMD have another kind of boost implementation?
  2. If I overclock Intel/AMD CPU it automatically turns off the boost?
  3. If I overclock Intel/AMD CPU it will no longer be able to lower frequency for lower power consumption and will work only at overclocked frequency?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-07-17, 03:17 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,940
How were you trying to detect the boost?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-07-17, 03:21 PM
AntonS AntonS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
How were you trying to detect the boost?
via HWMonitor (MAX Column)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-07-17, 03:26 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,940
How are you adding the load?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-07-17, 03:34 PM
AntonS AntonS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
How are you adding the load?
As for load I've tested it only in old gaming actually (Supreme Commander Forged Alliance) we've got a community driven lobby which utilize only 1 CPU/ 1 Thread but loads it to 100% percent. As for comparison in identical scenario my Intel 4930k boosts itself to 3.9 as it should according to Intel Turbo Boost Matrix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, boost, intel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.