Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-07-15, 12:35 PM
MatthewEn MatthewEn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
PSU suitability for upgrade

Apologies if this has been asked recently, I did my best to see if anyone had asked this, although didn't find anything here.

Hello all,

I have a 600W PSU which came with my case when I bought it; with 2x6pin outputs for PCI, the PSU also came with 2 cables which has 1x6+2pin + 1x6pin (I've attached pictures of both the PSU and cables for clarification).






I am currently using the PSU to power my GTX 680 which requires 1x8pin and 1x6 pin. I'm looking to upgrade my GPU to a model which requires 2x8pin connectors, and requires a 600W PSU.

The issue I have is that the cables supplied with the PSU are not capable of powering the card on their own. Is there any way in which I can use this PSU to power the new GPU, through either buying alternative cables, or using both the PSU PCI outputs to power each of the 8pin connectors on the card.

Thanks in advance.

Matt

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-15, 01:48 PM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,339
Hmm if you can't buy a new PSU you should be able to find adaptors online.
2x6pin to 1x8pin

Ok ok some will say it's wonky, but hey! At least it isn't molex to 6pin...
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-15, 03:07 PM
MatthewEn MatthewEn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelosouvlakia View Post
Hmm if you can't buy a new PSU you should be able to find adaptors online.
2x6pin to 1x8pin

Ok ok some will say it's wonky, but hey! At least it isn't molex to 6pin...
Thanks for the advice!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-15, 10:14 AM
kiwi91 kiwi91 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
It is Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 600 W, isn't it? That PSU should have 2x cables with one 8 pin and one 6 pin PCI-E connector.
You have one cable connected to your PSU and can't you just connect other cable on your PSU so you have another 8 pin available? Or I misunderstood you?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cables, connectors, psu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.