Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #3911  
Old 27-04-19, 11:10 AM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
On the discussion of why loops are problematic in software the other day, if anyone watched Hulkenberg try to hard reset his F1 car at full speed in Shanghai before having to retire, turns out it was caused by a caused by someone forgetting to make sure a loop always reached an exit condition.

https://www.motorsport.com/f1/news/r...eboul/4376647/

Quote:
“We have a very simple change in one line of code, and hopefully that will have sorted the problem we had in Shanghai,”

“Basically it’s a default mode that can be triggered. It’s an infinite loop, like sometimes on your laptop, when you see the task manager consuming 98% of the whole CPU. It’s exactly what happened, it’s an open loop and the system was trying to go through that open loop and go through a new process lap after lap, because of the default mode."
(These engines are ~$10 million pieces of hardware, about half the cost of the cars)

Reply With Quote
  #3912  
Old 27-04-19, 11:38 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
On the discussion of why loops are problematic in software the other day, if anyone watched Hulkenberg try to hard reset his F1 car at full speed in Shanghai before having to retire, turns out it was caused by a caused by someone forgetting to make sure a loop always reached an exit condition.

https://www.motorsport.com/f1/news/r...eboul/4376647/



(These engines are ~$10 million pieces of hardware, about half the cost of the cars)
Actually these days or 2019 season, the cars are far more expensive. Even the gearboxes approach $6-7Million now. Tyre sets are now $5000 approx, and considering they go through about 15 sets minimum per weekend. I'm not shocked that even Ferrari considered quitting.

On that note. Bought the new codemaster F1 game. Sweet Jebus it is baYUTEeeful.
Reply With Quote
  #3913  
Old 28-04-19, 09:40 AM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
My friend grew up with Alex Albon(same high school, Alex is 1 year older), was going from his estimations after that tank slapper the other day that destroyed his car, but yeah that was without tyres or anything and there's still a lot of secrecy even to them. He gets paid about £300k a year(Pretty much all of that goes back to team & costs) and we were trying to work out how much of a car his wages would get him(We worked out that's roughly the nose cone at most).

Very glad the next F1 game includes Formula 2 cars, great race here in Baku atm, ofc Alex got the triple here in Baku Formula 2 last year.
Reply With Quote
  #3914  
Old 01-05-19, 06:24 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,130
This is quite interesting.

https://hexus.net/tech/news/cooling/...d-laptop-cpus/
Reply With Quote
  #3915  
Old 01-05-19, 06:26 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
Using Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut in my laptop did a world of good, meant it could hit its boost clocks constantly, with modern CPUs that could make a pretty big difference for the small cost.
Reply With Quote
  #3916  
Old 03-05-19, 01:26 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,455
Valve Index sold out within 30 minutes in the US

https://www.pcgamer.com/the-valve-in...ffer_pcgamerfb
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #3917  
Old 03-05-19, 02:02 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,455
Possible listings of Ryzen 3000 -

https://www.techpowerup.com/255099/p...-online-stores
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #3918  
Old 08-05-19, 07:31 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
Detailed specs leaks for PS5 seemingly from a meeting Sony held on it:

"8 core Zen 2, clocked at 3.2Ghz.

Custom Navi GPU, 56CU, 1.8Ghz, 12.9TF. RT is hardware based, co engineered by AMD and Sony. (They believe the RT hardware is the basis for the rumour that Navi was built for Sony)

24GB RAM (Type or bandwidth wasn't mentioned)

Custom embedded Solid State solution paired with HDD."

Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/PS5/comment...ll_here_we_go/
Reply With Quote
  #3919  
Old 08-05-19, 07:56 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,292
Saw this earlier. Don't believe the 24GB of ram, but everything else is believable as they are based off current parts or already rumoured specs for Navi.

I say we see 12-18GB of memory, with 2-3GB dedicated to the OS. PS4 pro has 1GB of DDR3 dedicated to the OS, I could see them extending that to the new platform.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #3920  
Old 08-05-19, 08:41 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,457
I'm not sure at this point, if it's targeting 4K then most current titles already target 8GB of VRAM and 16GB of system memory on PC, future titles could easily use around 12GB VRAM for 4K given they often now hit 4GB for 1080p, especially given how memory heavy raytracing gets, while the XboneX is already at 12GB while its devkit was 24GB of GDDR5. Could just be a devkit spec too but 16GB of shared memory wouldn't seem very future proof or like it matches up to the specs(IE could keep the hardware well fed into the future) to me, since we're looking at a bare minimum of x5 jump in CPU & GPU power each with those specs. I just don't see how they could have meaningful raytracing and sub-20GB total system RAM at the same time, and RAM is a lot cheaper than it was around X1/PS4 launch(I mean you get cheap chinese smartphones with 8GB+ of RAM nowadays, while the PS3->PS4 had a x32 jump in RAM size).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.