Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-02-14, 09:43 PM
BuddhaCube's Avatar
BuddhaCube BuddhaCube is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA UT
Posts: 85
New High-End for Gaming/Editing/Music

I think it's time to do a new, sexy, INTEL build. With LEDS.

• Where are you located?
US, Utah

• What is your budget?
300$ tops CPU (might re-use 2500k sandy) is it worth it to liquid cool this?air?
800$ tops GPU (thinking EVGA 780 ti SC)
300$ tops Case (I want something flashy, with great airflow, that I can paint)
300$ tops MOBO (good features, and reliability) and overclockability.

I want everything to match black and red, or black and blue as much as possible, I want it to make people go oooo and ahhh :}

• Will you need a monitor, keyboard, and/or mouse included in that budget?
I do not need a keyboard, (waiting for the Corsair RGB mech) mouse, or monitor.


• Shall you be requiring an OS?
Can I re-use my current windows 7?

• What will you be using this rig for?
Gaming, Video Editing, and Music Production

• If gaming, what resolution will you be playing at?
1920x1080

• Will you be overclocking?
Yes please, I want to overclock my CPU, and maybe use my current i5 2500k sandy bridge.

• Do you need a full build or will you be reusing some old parts?
I plan on reusing my PSU, which is a 750w. My 256 SSD, my 2tb wd Black HDD, and 1tb wd Black HDD, and my 32gb of Ripjaw Z series 1866 ram.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-02-14, 10:09 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,615
Pretty good choice and budget you have there, here's what I found on PCPartPicker (US)
Intel Core i7-4770K $324.99
Corsair H100i $97.16
Asus Maximus VI Hero ATX $197.26
Asus GeForce GTX 780 $719.99
Corsair Air 540 $149.99

For what you save on the motherboard and case I added the H100i cooler.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-02-14, 10:57 PM
BuddhaCube's Avatar
BuddhaCube BuddhaCube is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA UT
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post
Pretty good choice and budget you have there, here's what I found on PCPartPicker (US)
Intel Core i7-4770K $324.99
Corsair H100i $97.16
Asus Maximus VI Hero ATX $197.26
Asus GeForce GTX 780 $719.99
Corsair Air 540 $149.99

For what you save on the motherboard and case I added the H100i cooler.

Thanks for the build, so you suggest I ditch my i5 2500k for the 4770k? What do you think I can get OC'd to?

And as for case, I was thinking something like the Level 10 GTS, or the PHANTOM.. I'd like something with a handle, LEDS, Great Cooling, Cable Management, And something that looks good after the custom heiroglyphic paintjob that I plan on putting on it;] I like the ASUS Hero, you ever used it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-02-14, 03:15 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddhaCube View Post
Thanks for the build, so you suggest I ditch my i5 2500k for the 4770k? What do you think I can get OC'd to?

And as for case, I was thinking something like the Level 10 GTS, or the PHANTOM.. I'd like something with a handle, LEDS, Great Cooling, Cable Management, And something that looks good after the custom heiroglyphic paintjob that I plan on putting on it;] I like the ASUS Hero, you ever used it?
I couldn't really advise on OC'ing the 4770k because I mainly follow AMD tech but you should definitely take a look at some of the other guys on here, they've done some great OC's also check out the Overclocking guide
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-02-14, 04:26 AM
BuddhaCube's Avatar
BuddhaCube BuddhaCube is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA UT
Posts: 85
I have question, I bought an OEM 64bit Windows 7 for my current comp. When I get a new MOBO + CPU, will I be able to plug in my SSD w/ W7 on it, and have it turn on and keep all my settings? Or do I have to buy a new version of windows?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-02-14, 05:11 AM
Cru's Avatar
Cru Cru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,488
Reinstalling Windows 7 is highly recommended as the new motherboard will probably use completely different drivers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-02-14, 07:01 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,294
Only way to get OEM W7 to a new system is by putting it onto a new drive. Reason why is because it locks into the motherboard model so only way of reinstalling and avoiding that problem is to use a new drive. Though should just get a cheap non OEM W7 OS disc/product key off of ebay for cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-02-14, 07:22 AM
Lazlo's Avatar
Lazlo Lazlo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Only way to get OEM W7 to a new system is by putting it onto a new drive. Reason why is because it locks into the motherboard model so only way of reinstalling and avoiding that problem is to use a new drive. Though should just get a cheap non OEM W7 OS disc/product key off of ebay for cheap.
I'm pretty sure you can reinstall on the old drive. Worst thing that can happen is that you have to use the phone to register it again.

I agree that you should definiely do a fresh install. Be it on the old or a new drive.
__________________
"The road to hell is paved with good intention."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-02-14, 08:07 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazlo View Post
I'm pretty sure you can reinstall on the old drive. Worst thing that can happen is that you have to use the phone to register it again.

I agree that you should definiely do a fresh install. Be it on the old or a new drive.
Aye, unless something changed between xp, vista and then 7.. you can transfer it, it's just not 'legal' to install it on two machines at the same time.
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-02-14, 03:09 PM
BuddhaCube's Avatar
BuddhaCube BuddhaCube is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA UT
Posts: 85
Alright thanks guys, I'll try re-installing it and see what happens, but can someone explain to me "OEM".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high-end, intel, mobo, ssd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.