Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 01-01-13, 08:26 PM
0rpheus's Avatar
0rpheus 0rpheus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 134
Thanks for the replies!

Would a Q6600 be an overkill to pair up with the 9800GT?

__________________
Owner of aeons old "gaming" rig
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-01-13, 08:45 PM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
As I said, unless you are going ot be upgrading to a sandy bridge or ivy bridge cpu there isnt really any point in getting anything else, unless you can get a q6600 for like £30 or something
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-01-13, 08:56 PM
0rpheus's Avatar
0rpheus 0rpheus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by seumasbeathan View Post
As I said, unless you are going ot be upgrading to a sandy bridge or ivy bridge cpu there isnt really any point in getting anything else, unless you can get a q6600 for like £30 or something
Not quite; though I saw a used Q6600 on sale for £45 in a forum so maybe there are more people selling used Q6600s for similar prices. I'm really bummed that I missed that one...

But this is going way off topic here, sorry about that
__________________
Owner of aeons old "gaming" rig
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-01-13, 09:48 PM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,900
like your signature implies, you do need a new rig, mate.

the games are going to get tougher and your system is a lil behind. dropping
more coin on the older 775 isn't going to help that much.

start saving your cash and invest in a newer platform. you can drop £100 easy
in upgrades and gain 10-15% frame-rate and still be behind in playability. you might
recheck your friends setup. with double in fps and a scoosh better processor he
is got something else you don't have.. and cache isn't one of them.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-01-13, 10:33 PM
0rpheus's Avatar
0rpheus 0rpheus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 134
I'll finish uni in 2 years and then I can start earning money and saving up; until then I know for sure I can't even dream about getting a higher-end PC so in the mean time I'd be happy if I could run current games on absolute minimum settings at 25-30+ framerate.

So to conclude- based on your guys' input it's pointless to waste money on semi-upgrading my current PC; no matter what CPU I put in it, it won't run current and newer games on minimum settings at playable framerate.

Well, taking a break from gaming is probably for the best anyway

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Owner of aeons old "gaming" rig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.