Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-10-12, 01:36 PM
neoguyver1 neoguyver1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 180
New motherboard Keep OS!

Hi guys i searched the forum and couldn't find a thread on this but if you want to retain your windows 7 without having to rebuild read the following.

There is always the possibility windows will boot but why take the chance.

You will be prompted to create a new user account, your account will be still there just log off from the new account and delete it from your own one in Control Panel after it goes through the 1st use process.

Before you dismantle your computer go to:

==============================

* C:\Windows\System32\sysprep\sysprep.exe

* Run "sysprep.exe" as admin.

* Select options

> Enter Sytem Out-of-Box Experience(OOBE).
> Tick Generalize.
> Shutdown Options = Shutdown.

* PC will shutdown after process has finished.

* Install HDD into your new PC or replace your internal components etc.

==============================

Hope this helps someone out.

__________________
i7 2600k, Hyper 612S, 8GB Patriot Viper Extreme 1866Mhz, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3, 7950 3gb oc sapphire, ZALMAN Z11, Antec TP-750.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-10-12, 02:03 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Very useful for those with an OEM version of Windows - i'd imagine this applies to most here. Bookmarking this
Saves me from having to ring Microsoft when the time comes to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-12, 02:16 PM
neoguyver1 neoguyver1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
Very useful for those with an OEM version of Windows - i'd imagine this applies to most here. Bookmarking this
Saves me from having to ring Microsoft when the time comes to it.
Nice one, should be in all windows including xp and vista (cough cough) i imagine.

Visiting most forums all that is mostly said is reinstall.
I found an article on "sysprep" works like a treat goes through a process of uninstalling drivers and other microsofty stuff.

I had a amd system that i migrated to a 1155 without any issue but i went to migrate an athlon DDR2 system to phenom DDR3 and I was getting a reboot loop so i had to go digging.
__________________
i7 2600k, Hyper 612S, 8GB Patriot Viper Extreme 1866Mhz, Gigabyte Z68AP-D3, 7950 3gb oc sapphire, ZALMAN Z11, Antec TP-750.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-12-12, 10:50 PM
Mcslave Mcslave is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC USA
Posts: 61
Send a message via Skype™ to Mcslave
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoguyver1 View Post
Nice one, should be in all windows including xp and vista (cough cough) i imagine.
sysprep was actually first implemented in vista
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.