Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 28-08-12, 06:56 PM
drunkenvalley drunkenvalley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
"May" get away? I'm running a i5 2500k + HD 7970 DirectCU II off a single 240 and seeing acceptable temperatures.* OP's rig isn't going to be all that hugely different at the end of the day, but has more rad surface.

It's gonna be more than enough rad.

*When possible I do intend to change that to more rad, but that's besides the point.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28-08-12, 07:10 PM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,945
lol, I say may get away - because temps are subjective.

For example, I'm happy with my temps to hit around 80-85 degrees under load, while others dont like theirs going over 60.
If I was spending a lot on watercooling then I'd want my temps better than anything I could do on air, while being quieter than air too.

I'm interested to hear what your 'acceptable temps' are with that config? As I've said, your temps are obviously acceptable for you, so I cant really argue with it

Anyway - We're both arguing the same point - you dont need the 120mm
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28-08-12, 07:20 PM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,900
loaded on:
air, 80°-85° is acceptable
h2o 60°-65° or lower is acceptable.
ambient @ 30°

agreed, the 120 is not going to contribute to the cooling cause efficiently.

airdeano
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28-08-12, 08:42 PM
drunkenvalley drunkenvalley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
I'm interested to hear what your 'acceptable temps' are with that config? As I've said, your temps are obviously acceptable for you, so I cant really argue with it
I almost wish I was joking when I said the highest temps I've gotten is 53c on CPU & 49c on GPU according to Realtemp... all I did was play GW2.
By comparison, I find Prime95 is 48c max on CPU.
Guess that was my GPU getting an opportunity to stretch its legs out for a bit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28-08-12, 08:46 PM
KoSoVaR KoSoVaR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sweden-Gothenburg
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
I'm interested to see how this will go then

May even get away without the 120mm tbh. Should manage a cpu and gpu alright on 2x240mm
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkenvalley View Post
"May" get away? I'm running a i5 2500k + HD 7970 DirectCU II off a single 240 and seeing acceptable temperatures.* OP's rig isn't going to be all that hugely different at the end of the day, but has more rad surface.

It's gonna be more than enough rad.

*When possible I do intend to change that to more rad, but that's besides the point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
lol, I say may get away - because temps are subjective.

For example, I'm happy with my temps to hit around 80-85 degrees under load, while others dont like theirs going over 60.
If I was spending a lot on watercooling then I'd want my temps better than anything I could do on air, while being quieter than air too.

I'm interested to hear what your 'acceptable temps' are with that config? As I've said, your temps are obviously acceptable for you, so I cant really argue with it

Anyway - We're both arguing the same point - you dont need the 120mm
Quote:
Originally Posted by airdeano View Post
loaded on:
air, 80°-85° is acceptable
h2o 60°-65° or lower is acceptable.
ambient @ 30°

agreed, the 120 is not going to contribute to the cooling cause efficiently.

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
I'm interested to see how this will go then

May even get away without the 120mm tbh. Should manage a cpu and gpu alright on 2x240mm
Yes it would but i love getting a bit overkill ;D
You will see that it will look way more better with the rad over there
I have decided to use them all, for the cause of bettr coolingperformance.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 28-08-12, 08:50 PM
KoSoVaR KoSoVaR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sweden-Gothenburg
Posts: 131
Time for another update guys!
Today i bought the Bitfenix Prodigy, The white version because of the very clean looking front
Some pictures on the beauty











The case was free from damages and artifacts etc and im glad about it, the swedish delivery firms are not that greatful with the stuff sometimes
Tomorrow i will take everything down for some prep work but more about that tomorow night as i am going to the workshop
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 29-08-12, 09:38 AM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Looking forward to more. The prodigy is truly a wonderful looking case
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 29-08-12, 10:49 AM
KoSoVaR KoSoVaR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sweden-Gothenburg
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
Looking forward to more. The prodigy is truly a wonderful looking case
Great to hear my frien!
Yes it is just lovely !
I always to tend make big cases tight inside somehow :P
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29-08-12, 09:46 PM
KoSoVaR KoSoVaR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sweden-Gothenburg
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shurika View Post
Yes! strip it! Love the design
Here it comes !

Hello Guys!
Today I had time to do a litel bit
I took down everything from the case, removed the hard drive cages, the 5.25 " bay and the fans, right now it's just the headchasis left and it will be modified a bit. I want to keep this build as clean as possible and I will not over do it somehow...designwise
Here you have some pictures of the work so far.


The origginal inside of the case




I started removing the first harddrive cage which sat in place with a thumbscrew




The next step was to remove the 240mm fanfilter on the top but also the front which went very fast and had just a simple locking mechaism and some clips, god its easy to work with the case!






And now at last, the fans and the 5,25" Bay, everything i needed to do here was to remove some more screws and they were gone! I didnt need to use the dremel or my drill !
I will give my thumbs up for this awsome construktion, this is how it should be !






An empty naked Prodigy, its some serious eyecandy!




This was tonights update, i hope that my pacage from Aquatuning arrives tomorrow och the next day after.
More about that when it arrives and then i will be making another update,
Dont forget to comment and subscribe please
Se you until next time !
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30-08-12, 04:22 AM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,900
a great mod i saw mr bean from an aussie site was to window the PSU back tray to let the PSU
have room for wire management. he also trimmed a CPU backplate access hole. he was using the
swiftech apogee CPU pump/block and needed 1-2mm for backplate clearence.

airdeano
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bitfenix, kosovar, kosovarmods, monobits, project

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.