Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Rants
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 05-01-09, 01:11 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
ahahahah

can i cover my whole room with it too?

Air purifyer eh?

Never EVER looked for one of those before lol, starting price is probably damn steep
Nah mate, I got mine for 50 pounds but they can start at around 30 pounds (maybe less?) if you look around .

__________________
www.laurencegough.com

Cooler Master HAF X | Noctua NH-D14 | Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz | EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 SC 1GB | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3P | Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 700W | Noctua NF-P14 Drivebay fan w/16x LED | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Raptor 150GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Acer 22" | Nzxt Sentry 2 | Logitech Illuminated Keyboard | Logitech G500 | Audio-Technica ATH-A900

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-01-09, 02:51 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,679
make? model?

are filters easy to buy for them?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-01-09, 04:02 PM
noobieocer noobieocer is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
http://www.amazon.co.uk/NScessity-HE...1174930&sr=1-1

£27 not that bad.

ps wh000000tt 100 posts
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-01-09, 08:08 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 4,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Cover all ur skin surface with cling-film. Has to be the best answer.
Just lol.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-01-09, 12:51 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 370
The make is Bionaire and not sure on the model, it doesn't seem to say it on there. It's quite loud anyway compared to some.

The filter hasn't been replaced yet but is due soon. Should be pretty easy to find, not too expensive.

Edit: That one linked looks okay, one of the reviews looks quite good. Although the other one looks a bit bad, it should have some airflow, mine has loads even on the lowest setting.
__________________
www.laurencegough.com

Cooler Master HAF X | Noctua NH-D14 | Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz | EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 SC 1GB | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3P | Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 700W | Noctua NF-P14 Drivebay fan w/16x LED | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Raptor 150GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Acer 22" | Nzxt Sentry 2 | Logitech Illuminated Keyboard | Logitech G500 | Audio-Technica ATH-A900

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-01-09, 01:25 PM
fruityness fruityness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
Put my head on the block here and state the obvious.

Use a hoover and duster more than once each 5th leap year?

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-01-09, 08:03 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
How about a big Van de Graaff running in corner of your room? 2million volts of static electricity to attract all that dust
Apparently, if you touch your processors and ram with this voltage going through you, it does them the world of good.
__________________

i9 7980XE 4.6GHz - EK Supreme EVO - Asus - X299-RVIE - 32GB 3677MHz RAM - 2 x 2080Ti EK Cu Block - Creative Titanium Pro - Tower - Samsung 970 Pro 512GB - Plextor 240GB PCIe SSD - 6TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-01-09, 07:00 PM
sammjj sammjj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
My room gets incredibly dusty...well you cant see it but it COVERS everything electrical in my room (nearly everything), clogs up the computer etc and is probably bad for my health.

Any tips on keeping dust count low? Id love an air filter lol
ooooooooo i've found loads of em

(from £12) they are the ones that use plasma something or other so they don't have filters to be changed

will post link when i get my post count up
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-01-09, 10:54 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 370
Air ionisers are dangerous to your health, I wouldn't suggest using them at all.

They also don't remove as much dust as a proper filter would.
__________________
www.laurencegough.com

Cooler Master HAF X | Noctua NH-D14 | Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz | EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 SC 1GB | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3P | Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 700W | Noctua NF-P14 Drivebay fan w/16x LED | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Raptor 150GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Acer 22" | Nzxt Sentry 2 | Logitech Illuminated Keyboard | Logitech G500 | Audio-Technica ATH-A900

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 13-01-09, 12:32 AM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Air filters/purifiers are a good start along with removing the carpet which is a big source of dust.

Is your computer on the floor? Doesn't help if it is.

Do you have filters on your case? I have used use dryer sheets (cut to shape) on my fans and they work pretty good. I have also used flor vent filters with the same success. Both are a lot cheaper than buying fan filters from the local computer store.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.