Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Forum Teams > [OC3D] Gaming
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 06-03-18, 01:07 AM
g0ggles1994's Avatar
g0ggles1994 g0ggles1994 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: I was hoping you could tell me.
Posts: 944
*looks at my cheap Hotas.X*

Dont mind me, just going to note these recommendations for when I get Elite after i finish uni.

Also Happy Upcoming/Belated Birthdays gentlemen

__________________
Ryzen 1700X @ 3.6GHz | MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon | Corsair H100i v2 | 16GiB Corsair Vengeance LED Blue
ASUS RoG Strix Vega64 8GiB | 240GB Corsair Neutron GTX | 1TB HGST | Corsair RM850 CableMod | Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-03-18, 05:16 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,217
For those of you considering buying a Warthog you may want to consider Virpil instead as their quality on HOTAS systems is pretty much unrivaled but their stuff isn't the cheapest but it is totally customiseable and from what I've heard worth every penny
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=MSI X370 Gaming M7 ACK=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3200Mhz GSkill Flare X= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=MSI MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-03-18, 06:31 AM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimma47 View Post
Add me to the list for the OC3D Wing.

I use an X52 - purchased in around 2005 and still going strong although a bit squeaky at times.

The TM 16000s are getting great reviews and are super affordable.

-edit - HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
Thanks Jimma after watching and reading reviews last night about the thrust master T16000m FCS compared to the X52 it does seem to be a better buy. A lot of people RMA their X52 due to them being poorly made. So i'll get this one and in time get another stick for space sims
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01H6KXG...v_ov_lig_dp_it

I could get dual stick here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B076J1JB...v_ov_lig_dp_it but the throttle on its own is £70 so the HOTAS is the wiser buy.

Thank you all for you sound advice now we need to get our squadron off the ground and get playing ED together
Just pm me on here for my steam ID
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-03-18, 06:43 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolemac View Post
Thanks Jimma after watching and reading reviews last night about the thrust master T16000m FCS compared to the X52 it does seem to be a better buy. A lot of people RMA their X52 due to them being poorly made. So i'll get this one and in time get another stick for space sims
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01H6KXG...v_ov_lig_dp_it

I could get dual stick here https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B076J1JB...v_ov_lig_dp_it but the throttle on its own is £70 so the HOTAS is the wiser buy.

Thank you all for you sound advice now we need to get our squadron off the ground and get playing ED together
Just pm me on here for my steam ID
The X52 quality issue was when it was still under the Saitek brand, All of it is Logitech now and quality control is much better.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-03-18, 06:45 AM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
The X52 quality issue was when it was still under the Saitek brand, All of it is Logitech now and quality control is much better.
Thanks for that Dicey
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-03-18, 06:47 AM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,437
Happy Birthday!

I use the now Logitech X56 Rhino, it's really good but the price seems to have gone up so much on them.

I only paid I think it was £150 for mine, but they now seem to be well over £200.

When I started playing Elite back in Beta, I tried using a T-Flight Hotas but couldn't and then when the game officially released I was able to, strange I know but that little T-Flight stood up really well and is still being used, today by a friend.

The 16000M are used by quite alot of players, as are the X52's and I don't think you could go wrong with either.



If anyone does have issues with a X55 or X56 with button's not responding, generally it's down to the wires inside snapping because of the layout and the cables not really having much slack on them.

If you are decent with a soldering iron, you can get some cable from Maplin if there still going and re-wire it and everything should work fine, if you take your time.

My dad did exactly that, with my old X55 because some of the buttons stopped working and now he uses that, and it's actually better than X56 and I may do the same with my X56 at some point.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-03-18, 06:58 AM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
Happy Birthday!

The 16000M are used by quite alot of players, as are the X52's and I don't think you could go wrong with either.

If anyone does have issues with a X55 or X56 with button's not responding, generally it's down to the wires inside snapping because of the layout and the cables not really having much slack on them.

If you are decent with a soldering iron, you can get some cable from Maplin if there still going and re-wire it and everything should work fine, if you take your time.
.
Just make sure you use 60/40 lead solder not solder free as it's sucky.
I have seen more people rate the 16000m than the x52 but I prefer the look of the logitech
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-03-18, 07:18 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
The X52 quality issue was when it was still under the Saitek brand, All of it is Logitech now and quality control is much better.
It's still there. And all components are of the same quality from the same manufacturers. You can view the tear down videos on YT. The thing is, the quality control was blown out of proportion with Saitek. It was like, "ill get on the band wagon and cry Wolf too". Aside from you Dice, suggesting for me to purchase one. I was also enticed by my colleague who has a die hard Flight enthusiast. He has the them all including the CM stick and throttle. His view is that "of all the crap. on the market, they are all badly built, but the X56 is the best, badly built one out there, followed by x-52". The Gimble on the warthog is atrocious considering expensive it is. I think some make their own now.

Yes, many had issues with Saitek models and still do. But there are hundreds of thousands more that have no problems even from Saitek brand. Basically comes down to how you treat them.

If you have a titan grip, then of course the little pinky trigger on the throttle is going to break. They also proved there are no design flaws in the throttle on the x52 or x56, cables are tucked away and dont inhibit the movement.

So while I'm glad I bit the bullet and bought one now, don't be concerned about it breaking down from you, even though it's "saitek".
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-03-18, 07:18 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tolemac View Post
Thanks for that Dicey
NP

I had the same concerns so contacted Logitech, They said all Saitek stock is now gone and anything from them is now Logitech stock.
__________________
- Intel Core i9 9900K @ 5GHz - Asus ROG Max XI Hero -
- Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 4x8GB @ 3600MHz -
- WD Black SN750 1TB - RTX 2080 Ti @ 2000/7500 -
- Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Edition - Corsair 680X Black -
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-03-18, 07:21 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
NP

I had the same concerns so contacted Logitech, They said all Saitek stock is now gone and anything from them is now Logitech stock.
Yeah, the whole RMA policy is far better. But while its shipped with Logitech on the box, inside its still the same parts etc

Not complaining though, I really do like the X-56 pro. Maybe we will see some new models come soon with more and more loving ED.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.