Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-06-13, 11:22 PM
=FIB=Goldberg's Avatar
=FIB=Goldberg =FIB=Goldberg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Blackpool UK
Posts: 6
will triple channel ram work on Haswell

Hi guys its my first post on here

Ok my question is can i use my old triple channel ram
Corsair Dominator Gt Cmt12gx3m3a2000c9 Ram Module - 12 Gb (3 X 4 Gb) - Ddr3

on the new dual channel 1150 mobos

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-06-13, 11:25 PM
SieB's Avatar
SieB SieB is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dudley
Posts: 8,137
It will work but it will only run as dual channel. Just use 2x 4gb not the 3x 4gb.
__________________
NZXT Switch 810 - Ryzeny 3600 - Gigabyte X570 Gaming - 32GB Corsair Platinum SE - MSI Gaming 1070 - Crucial MX100 256GB SSD - Crucial MX500 500GB SSD - Samsung F3 1TB HDD - Corsair H100 - Corsair RM1000i SE - Asus VE247H

PC Audio: Asus Xonar STX - Sennheiser HD650.
Portable Audio: FiiO X3II - Audiofly AF140 - Etymotic ER4s - Fidue A83.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-06-13, 11:29 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,785
It will run fine, but im not sure if dual channel boards have a 2 capability (i doubt it tbh) so it will will drop a little performance as it will run single channel, try it with 2 sticks and then with 3 and see if you notice a performance drop, you probably wont outside of like 3dmark score or programs that use a crap load of memory throughput.


(clarification, triple channel boards, well mine atleast can run 3 and still stay in triple channel)
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-06-13, 04:23 AM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,900
dual channel, triple channel and quad channel all refer to the "matching" chips on
the module to prevent unbalanced performance issues. using less from a triple
channel is no harm, the got 'cha is using say two dual channel sets in extreme
overclocking and you'll find out easily why quad channel is higher as they have
binned all the chips to be equal or matched to deliver best performance modules.

go for the two modules and have fun.. you'll have a spare if one craps out..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-06-13, 03:33 PM
=FIB=Goldberg's Avatar
=FIB=Goldberg =FIB=Goldberg is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Blackpool UK
Posts: 6
thanks for the info guys

now that you have saved me about £150 I can spend the money on some new water cooling parts
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.