Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-02-13, 03:19 PM
233Kosta's Avatar
233Kosta 233Kosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 193
Question Dominator Platinum upgrade

Hey, guys, I've only just got myself a 16GB 2400MHz Dominator Platinum kit, but my chip struggles to get it higher than 1866 with any level of stability. I think it doesn't like the memory density, as it quite happily ran my Dominator GT 1866 CL9 kit at 2133 CL10. I think it has to do with one being a 3x2 and the other - 4x4.

Before anyone criticises, I bought this mainly for CFD and FEA simulations, so any bit of extra bandwidth is absolutely welcome.

Can anyone point me towards any voltages I need to tweak to stabilise it and any limits?

As far as I know, the memory controller on my SB chip is labelled VCCIO. The board says there's a 0.8-1.7V range, but I have no idea what's a safe memory controller voltage on this chip, and I really don't want to find out by killing it.

I realise that 2400MHz is very unlikely, simply due to CPU limitations, but it would be much appreciated if someone helped me run 2133. I know the chip can handle the speed, but I'm not sure how far I can move the VCCIO and potentially other voltages. Hopefully Vcore doesn't need to move up by much either, but I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks everyone!

__________________
24/7


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-13, 03:28 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,945
Might want to tell us what chip for starters......

And it would be a good idea to say what mobo and post some bios shots.

If you want us to help you then you need to help us. LOL
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-13, 03:34 PM
233Kosta's Avatar
233Kosta 233Kosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 193
Knew I'd forgotten something :/

It's a 2500K on an ASUS P8Z68, with the prospect of getting a 3770K at some point in the near future.

At this point, I've got it hovering around 4.2 @ 1.25V until I get the memory sorted, then I'm going to see if I can get it back up to 4.6-4.8.

Will get a BIOS screenshot in a bit.
__________________
24/7


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-13, 03:35 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,945
Screen shots.......
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-13, 03:50 PM
233Kosta's Avatar
233Kosta 233Kosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 193
Here are the screenshots
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-DRAM1.BMP.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	76.5 KB
ID:	5222   Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-DRAM2.BMP.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	5223   Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-OC1.BMP.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	5224  

Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-OC2.BMP.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	5225   Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-OC3.BMP.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	68.1 KB
ID:	5226   Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-Power.BMP.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	5227  

__________________
24/7


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-13, 03:52 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,945
Put the VCCIO voltage up to 1.15 and then try, then 1.2 if it doesnt work.

Remember the lower the volts the better.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-13, 03:54 PM
233Kosta's Avatar
233Kosta 233Kosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 193
Wildo, cheers!
__________________
24/7


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-13, 04:08 PM
233Kosta's Avatar
233Kosta 233Kosta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 193
Tried both - BSOD every time I try to boot. Raising VCCIO seemed to get it further into the boot up sequence though. How far can I push it?
__________________
24/7


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.