Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 07-04-08, 09:15 PM
DTSBasketball DTSBasketball is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 84
8gb Would be nice but not really needed right now.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-04-08, 07:27 AM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
Ye well I can always get another 4gb in the future when I need it and when it is cheaper.

Will stay away from SLI, and maybe one day ill xfire some ATI cards :P
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-04-08, 09:43 PM
Azza Azza is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 374
Mate of mine recently got 8gb of RAM so he can have massive games on SupCom without the game getting all laggy, so he says.

No idea if it has even improved anything else other than SupCom.

Does seem a bit of a waste though seen as he wont be able to use it when he gets a new PC as DDR3 will prolly be the mainstream with Nehalem and all.
__________________


To infinity, and beyond!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-04-08, 01:30 AM
stilup stilup is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
8gb Ddr2

I have been running 4X2 Mushkin HP-6400 DDR2 and I find that it hampers the O/C. In order to O/C past 3Ghz I need to slow the memory speed and the n/b speed but I did gain in FPS in Crysis.

I can definenetly O/C faster with only 2X2GB. Since I run Vista 64 I do use it.

If I had known I wouldn't of bought the extra 4GB but I have it.
__________________
Intel i7-5820 3.3 Mhz @ 4.0 Mhz 1.100v
MSI X99S SLI Plus Bios 1.6
XFX R9-280A-TD
GPU Clock 933MHz @ 1120MHz
Memory 1250MHz @ 1350MHz
16 GB DDR4 4X4 Micron 8ATF51264AZ-2G1A1 2133Mhz 1.2v @ 2666 1.25v
HX850 Corsair P/S
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-04-08, 02:59 AM
RollerCam540 RollerCam540 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Hi Timmy,

Everyone here has given you lucid advice. You should be glad that you've been so well informed.

Personally, I don't think there's a universal answer to the question "should anyone buy 8GB?" Why do you feel 8GB may benifit you? What provoked the question?

Firstly, you'll need a 64bit operating system for 8GB. Without it, the system cannot address RAM above 4GB; you'd be lucky if the system addressed RAM above 3.25GB as some video cards rob the system of RAM due to their Memory Mapped IO. Secondly, Vista has a few security features, on which I won't elaborate, that cannot function in a 32-bit enviornment -- making a 64bit OS an enticing alternative. Thirdly, 64-bit operating systems have a bigger "footprint" than their 32-bit counterpart, so you should expect the 64bit version of Vista to "eat" more memory than its 32-bit counterpart. Additionally, not all software is designed for or compatible with a 64bit operating system: the aforementioned advantages may be far outweighed by other disadvantages, depending on your intentions. Lastly, not all software has been optimized for a 64bit enviornment, so you may gain nothing by having 8GB of RAM.

To answer your question, you should build a computer so that it best suits your needs with a given budget. Ask yourself what you plan to use the computer for, then make your selections accordingly.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 90nm 3200+ (2000mhz) @ 2750mhz

MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum @ 275mhz FSB (1:1 ratio 275x10)

1GB (2x512mb) of G.SKILL DDR550 PC4400 ram (2.65v)

Enernex 550w PSU

+3.3v/36A +5v/36A +12v/36A -5v/1A -12v/1A +5VSB/2.2A

2xMaxtor 80GB 6Y080M0 SATA150 Hard Drive

MSI 6600GT 8xAGP 128MB DDR3 Video Card

Windows XP SP2

Dangerden Watercooled
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-04-08, 07:41 AM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
I think ill stick with getting 4gb and go 8gb at a later date. Thanks all for the advice.
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.