Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 20-06-17, 05:44 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,340
Do you have a "DRAM boot voltage" option in your BIOS? Some Ryzen folks on OCN reported some success with setting the DRAM boot voltage to 1.4, but with the actual regular DRAM voltage set to 1.35v. So the RAM gets a bit more voltage on boot up to get over the memory training hurdle.

__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU / GPUs / 360 + 420 rads / Singularity Computers D5 top / reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-06-17, 06:34 PM
Coxey Coxey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South East UK
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Do you have a "DRAM boot voltage" option in your BIOS? Some Ryzen folks on OCN reported some success with setting the DRAM boot voltage to 1.4, but with the actual regular DRAM voltage set to 1.35v. So the RAM gets a bit more voltage on boot up to get over the memory training hurdle.
Thanks for the reply.

Can't find anything named EXACTLY "DRAM / DDR boot voltage" but included screenshots of anything that might share a different name but same purpose. (I'm unfamiliar with this level of tinkering so not 100% on what the alternative names could be) Perhaps VPP Voltage? - Wouldn't start adjusting it without advice.

Went back to auto NB Voltage as it didn't allow me to get any further than where I am with auto.

Edit/Side note: I'm still within a full-refund no questions asks time period, so if anyone believes going for a different board, or even an x370 would yield a better CHANCE at higher DRAM frequency I would bite the bullet and give it a try.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MSI_SnapShot_DigitALL_POWER_Settings1.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	11915   Click image for larger version

Name:	MSI_SnapShot_Voltage_Settings1.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	11916  
__________________
MSI 7970 Lightning BE[temp] | Ryzen 1700 | MSI B350 Pro Carbon | Corsair 2x8GB LPX White "3200mhz" @ 2933mhz

Corsair AX860 | W10 x64
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20-06-17, 06:43 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,340
Hmm, there shouldn't be another name for it, unless this is something specific to Asus boards (my Crosshair 6 Hero X370 board has it). It simply sets a unique DRAM voltage ONLY for the boot up process. Once booted, it reverts to the standard DRAM voltage you have set to 1.360v above. But maybe it's Asus only.

If I were you, I'd be happy with 2933, but see how low you can get your memory timings. According to some, running lower speed memory with tighter timings can net you as good or better performance than higher speeds / looser timings. I'm patiently waiting for the BIOS to improve for my CH6 Hero. I've spend enough time tinkering to know that it isn't worth the trouble, since every BIOS update seems to fix one thing and break another.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU / GPUs / 360 + 420 rads / Singularity Computers D5 top / reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20-06-17, 06:47 PM
Coxey Coxey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South East UK
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Hmm, there shouldn't be another name for it, unless this is something specific to Asus boards (my Crosshair 6 Hero X370 board has it). It simply sets a unique DRAM voltage ONLY for the boot up process. Once booted, it reverts to the standard DRAM voltage you have set to 1.360v above. But maybe it's Asus only.

If I were you, I'd be happy with 2933, but see how low you can get your memory timings. -snipped-
I'll have one last glance at every disposable option in the BIOS but I'm positive I checked everything. If I haven't edited within 15 minutes of posting this reply then I haven't found it.

The general consensus I'm getting is that I should be pretty happy with 2933, and I'm coming around to the idea with being happy with it. If I remotely change any of the timings - even loosening them up, the computer starts boot looping.

I'm going to look more into the VPP voltage tonight / tomorrow and see if I can find anything relevant to this.
__________________
MSI 7970 Lightning BE[temp] | Ryzen 1700 | MSI B350 Pro Carbon | Corsair 2x8GB LPX White "3200mhz" @ 2933mhz

Corsair AX860 | W10 x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.