Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-04-19, 05:11 PM
Ov3erclock3R Ov3erclock3R is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buckinghamsire
Posts: 92
X58 expert needed!?!

So I just installed a 2080 in to my system and its Brill with my new monitor.

Problem I have is i can't boot with my CPU overclock, do I need to add more cpu voltage or pcie voltage ? Other than that it will boot and operate fine with my 650 watt psu, any advice will be great appreciated.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-04-19, 05:15 PM
Ov3erclock3R Ov3erclock3R is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buckinghamsire
Posts: 92
.......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	15551756191875513322174934868918.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	12639   Click image for larger version

Name:	15551756676382801593639483778498.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	12640  
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-04-19, 05:48 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,498
So it booted fine before the GPU upgrade? I mean it could be an old 650W PSU with a strange lane configuration. Is your signature up to date and you've got a 950? 4.2 with 1.31V would be a big win in silicon lottery.

If your cooler can handle it, Intel spec allows up to 1.4V coltage.

But straight up not booting means you're far from stable, or indeed PSU issues.


TLDR: more info pls
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-04-19, 06:07 PM
Ov3erclock3R Ov3erclock3R is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buckinghamsire
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
So it booted fine before the GPU upgrade? I mean it could be an old 650W PSU with a strange lane configuration. Is your signature up to date and you've got a 950? 4.2 with 1.31V would be a big win in silicon lottery.

If your cooler can handle it, Intel spec allows up to 1.4V coltage.

But straight up not booting means you're far from stable, or indeed PSU issues.


TLDR: more info pls
Hi no my sig is no up to date, I have got a 6 core 5960 which overclocked fine at 4.5 and now it fails to boot with the overclock.

My cooler is noctua NH d 14 so I'm sure it can handle it, maybe pcie lanes need more voltage???

Ps. It boots but overclock fails.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-04-19, 06:28 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,877
Rule number one with overclocking : when it fails drop off the overclock until it doesn't.

It may be your PSU's 12v rail struggling.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-04-19, 06:57 PM
Ov3erclock3R Ov3erclock3R is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buckinghamsire
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Rule number one with overclocking : when it fails drop off the overclock until it doesn't.

It may be your PSU's 12v rail struggling.
True but I don't want to do that I want to keep the overclock :P getting a new psu's not a problem.


Just wondered as its x58 does the pcie voltage need upping or something?


Edit: would I be ok with a 750w psu ???
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-04-19, 07:18 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,877
At 4.5 ghz that CPU is probably eating around 300w. I remember my I7 950 and it used to get through around 240w at 4ghz...

You may also find that the board simply can't handle it.

But yes, IIRC NVIDIA say 600? 650?w for a 2080 and that would be with a modern CPU.

What board are you using?
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-04-19, 07:25 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ov3erclock3R View Post
True but I don't want to do that I want to keep the overclock :P getting a new psu's not a problem.


Just wondered as its x58 does the pcie voltage need upping or something?


Edit: would I be ok with a 750w psu ???
Constant overclocks on a CPU degrades its life. Eventually your CPU will not longer OC to the same value you used to have. Especially if you are plugging 1.3v or more through it on a daily basis.

650W PSU is also going to struggle. I believe 850W is suggested for OC a i7 950 CPU and 20xx series cards. So bother of these are a factor.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-04-19, 07:33 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,498
If the cause was degradation, it would manifest in random stability issues first, not straight up failed overclock on boot. It also wouldn't likely coincide with GPU upgrade. I'm calling PSU issues here, at least until OP specifies the model. X58 era power supplies can have funky 12V rail configurations.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-04-19, 07:36 PM
Ov3erclock3R Ov3erclock3R is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buckinghamsire
Posts: 92
Cheers for the input people its really appreciated, I have just ordered a Rm 850 for delivery tomorrow

In regards to my OC on my cpu, it's only used a couple times a week for a few hours but yes I understand degradation and all thanks again for the help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.